FALL GUNN COUNSELING NEWSLETTER

JUNIORS

JUNIOR YEAR

During this year, we encourage students to remain academically focused, research post high school opportunities, and to embrace the influence and leadership they have on campus.


Junior year traditionally marks the time families begin thinking of life after Gunn. Our counseling department offers a comprehensive curriculum to help with all of your college/career planning needs.

REACHING YOUR COUNSELOR

Counselor assignments can be found in Infinite Campus:


Andrea Bueno: 650-354-826, abueno@pausd.org

Jorge Chavez: 650-354-822, jchavez@pausd.org

Myesha Dickson: 650-354-8207 mdickson@pausd.org

Jonathan Fidani: 650-354-8220 jfidani@pausd.org

Derek Johanson: 650-849-7935 djohanson@pausd.org

David Leftwich: 650-354-8225 dleftwich@pausd.org

Erin Reyes: 650-354-8242 ereyes@pausd.org

Cora Ross: 650-354-8290 cross@pausd.org

JUNIOR PARENT NIGHT

Wednesday, Sep. 30th 2020 at 6:15pm

This is an online event.

Hosted by the Gunn Counseling Department, this event will provide useful information on what to expect junior year, counseling touch-points/events, as well as an introduction into post-secondary options.


This event will be hosted through Zoom, and can be accessed at this link:

https://pausd.zoom.us/s/98919940346


Please use the form below to share any topics or questions you would like addressed at the event.

GET CONNECTED

Spend time exploring what interests you! Although school is virtual at this time, there are many ways to try different activities, explore your passions, and make connections with your peers.


  • Join a club
  • Participate in Gunn athletics
  • Volunteer in the local community
  • Audition for music/theater productions

CLUB FAIR

The fall Club Fair will take place on September 23rd during Gunn Together and lunch. Take this opportunity to watch club promo videos, visit with club officers, and to find the right fit for you!


Here is the 2020-2021 Gunn Club List

JUNIOR FAMILY CONFERENCES

Junior Family Conferences are underway with Ms. Kirsch. During this meeting, Ms. Kirsch will work with you and your family to explore your post-high school plans. These conferences run throughout the 2020-2021 school year, and appointments can be made by emailing Ms. Kirsch at lkirsh@pausd.org.

WELLNESS

We know that this school year looks and feels much different than the past. There are also so many things going on in the world that may create stress and uncertainty. If you'd like to talk with someone, please consider the following supports:



ACADEMICS

Junior Year is a key time to demonstrate your talents and abilities to colleges and future employers


  • Attend Office Hours with intentionality and purpose

  • Maintain a balanced and realistic academic load

  • Peer Tutoring services are available by clicking HERE
  • See your counselor if you are struggling or feel overwhelmed


Please note: the last day to drop a class without a grade being reflected on your transcript is Nov. 6th.


The minimum grade for graduation credit is D-

The minimum grade for UC/CSU eligibility is C-

NAVIANCE

Naviance is a comprehensive college and career readiness solution that helps Gunn students align their strengths and interests to post-secondary goals, while improving student outcomes. There are a number of resources and tools available through Naviance that we encourage you to explore. Please see Leighton Lang, llang@pausd.org.

PSAT DAY

Due to campus closures, Gunn will not be holding a sitting of the October PSAT. January 21, 2021 has been announced by College Board as an additional test date. We hope to be able to facilitate the test should regulations allow. Please continue to monitor the PAUSD website for updates.

GUNN ATHLETICS

As of September 14th, some outdoor campus athletic facilities have been reopened for off season workouts and practice.


Continue to monitor the Gunn Athletics website for important information and updates as it pertains to upcoming athletic seasons.

PALO ALTO TEEN VOLUNTEER PROGRAM

Have a heart to serve? Help support our city by exploring ways to participate in the Palo Alto Teen Volunteer Program.

EXPERIENCING FINANCIAL HARDSHIP?

Please reach out to your student's counselor to learn about financial assistance opportunities offered in our district as well as in our local community to help your family through this challenging time.