Articles of Confederation

By: Cheyenne Lykins

Structure Of The Government

The government is separated into three groups called The Executive Branch, The Judicial Branch, The Legislative Branch. The executive branch of government is led by the president of the United States. The judicial branch Headed by the Supreme Court. The legislative branch Headed by Congress, which includes the House of Representatives and the Senate.

Founding Fathers

The Founding Fathers’ first attempt at such governance was formed around the Articles of Confederation. The Articles of Confederation were first proposed at the Second Continental Congress in 1777 in Philadelphia. They were fully ratified and put into effect in 1781. The reign of the Articles of Confederation was brief. Why did the articles of confederation fail? What were the flaws of the Articles of Confederation and how did it distribute power? Read more to discover why by 1789 the former colonies were under the law of a new governing document the Constitution of the United States of America

Executive Branch

The president carries out federal laws and recommends new ones, directs national defense and foreign policy, and performs ceremonial duties. Powers include directing government, commanding the Armed Forces, dealing with international powers, acting as chief law enforcement officer, and vetoing laws.

Legislative Branch

The main task of these two bodies is to make the laws. Its powers include passing laws, originating spending bills (House), impeaching officials (Senate), and approving treaties (Senate).