Supranational Organizations

the United Nations and the European Union

What are supranational organizations?

Supranationalism is the method of decision-making between multi-national communities where the power is delegated to an authority by governments of member states.

The United Nations

The UN is the world's largest supranational nation containing 193 members.

The goals of the UN are promoting and facilitating cooperation in:

  • International Law
  • International Security
  • Economic Development
  • Social Progress
  • Human Rights
  • Civil Rights
  • Civil Liberties
  • Political Freedoms
  • Democracy
  • World Peace

The Origins of the UN

After WWII, the United Nations was formed to replace the League of Nations to stop global wars and conflicts. At it's founding in 1945, there were 51 nations, as of 2011, there are 193.

Aspects of the UN

The UN has six principal organs

1. The General Assembly - the main deliberative assembly

2. The Security Council - for deciding certain resolutions for peace and security

3. The Economic and Social Council - for assisting in promoting international economic and social cooperation and development

4. The Secretariat - for providing studies, information, and facilities needed by the UN

5. The International Court of Justice - the primary judicial organ

6. The United Nations Trusteeship Council - currently inactive

Other important agencies of the UN include the World Health Organization (WHO), the World Food Program (WFP), and the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

The most prominent position in the UN is the Secretary-General position, held by Ban Ki-Moon since 2007.

The UN's main headquarters resides in New York City on international territory.

The United Nations: It's Your World

The European Union

The European Union is an economic and political union of 27 states located primarily in Europe. They operate under a supranational government made up of member states.

The EU has established one single market through standardized laws and systems that apply to all the member states

They wish to ensue the free movement of people, goods, services and capital.

Enact legislation in both justice and home affairs, and maintain common policies on trade, agriculture, fisheries, and regional development.

Origins of the EU

The EU's origin traces back to the European Coal and Steel Company (ESEC) and the European Economic Community (EEC) formed by the inner six countries:

  • Belgium
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands

The Aspects of the EU

The European Commission - the Executive cabinet

The Council of the European Union - Legislative cabinet

The European Council - no real powers

The Court of Justice of the European Union - Judiciary cabinet

The European Central Bank - central bank for the euro

The Court of Auditors - investigative auditory agency

The European Parliament - elected parliament of the organization

50 Years of EU in the World