The Seahawks Call

Week of November 23, 2020 Volume 11

From Our Family to Yours......Happy Thanksgiving!

Schools and Offices closed for Thanksgiving Break from Wednesday, November 25th through Friday, November 27th
Big picture

Seeking Student Council Members

Are you interested in leadership and socializing with your peers after school? Student Council may be the club for you! We are holding an informational meeting on Tuesday, December 1st from 2:15 p.m. until 3:00 p.m. Whether returning or a new potential member we ask that you please complete the application form link before the meeting: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=fts6jik6w0CD3e0PwztGwxJz6W0Bk-xOskYB9_L8kQxUNVJSR1pOREgxUElESTVQTUVHOVE3NEw3Ti4u


The Zoom details are here:

Topic: April Thompson's Zoom Meeting

Time: Dec 1, 2020 02:15 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

https://ccboe.zoom.us/j/89410265347?pwd=eG9XeVlHSFR1NkFJWmdvKzNOcmdJUT09

Meeting ID: 894 1026 5347

Passcode: 130638

Reminder with having cameras turned on!

    Dear Parents/Guardians,

    Now that the second quarter has begun, schools will not be as lenient with enforcing the attendance policy to students who fail to have their cameras on during instruction.

    This is a reminder that it is CCPS policy (in order to verify attendance) for students who have a working camera for it to be turned on for the entire duration of the class period. Students who do NOT have a working camera must do the following in order to be marked present for class:

    1. Inform your teacher that your camera is not working.

    2. Make sure you participate in the lesson via the chat room or "unmuting yourself" to answer questions or share responses.

    If a student, without a working camera, fails to participate in other ways to truly indicate he/she is present, the teacher will mark the student absent.

    Thank you, in advance, for reviewing this CCPS policy with your child.

PTSO Executive Board Members

President: Dawn Shafer

Vice-President: Melissa Morris

Secretary: Sherri Williams

Treasurer: Brenda Washington


Contact us at miltonsomersmsptso@gmail.com

Facebook: Milton Somers Middle School PTSO

Twitter: @SomersPTSO

Instagram: SomersPTSO

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.