Lynx MS News

AIS West - February 2021

Dear parents and students,


Welcome to February! We hope this newsletter finds you safe, healthy and surrounded by loved ones. We know that online learning is not easy, but we have seen some incredible student learning and parent support taking place. Thank you!


As Mr. Mark has shared in previous communication, he will be leaving our school and Egypt this summer after 11 years with AIS. We will miss his leadership greatly, but are happy to announce a new leadership team for the 2021/2022 school year. Ms. Chelsea will be stepping into the Middle School Principal position and Mr. Mathias Sanders will serve as the new Middle School Assistant Principal. Mathias is originally from Washington, USA and is currently the Middle School Assistant Principal at Ruamrudee International School in Bangkok, Thailand. Both positions will begin on August 1.


We are in the process of planning a very exciting Career Day for all Middle School students with the help of our PTO. The event will take place on Zoom on February 17. If you are interested in being a guest speaker please complete this form.


Congratulations to all of our Honors, High Honors, Online Super Stars and Most Improved Students! See video and poster below for details.


Thanks again for your continued support during this difficult time. We are always available to parents and students. Do not hesitate to reach out. It takes a village!


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Assistant Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

100% Online Learning Schedule January 10 - February 20

Big picture

Important Dates

February 4 - Parent Workshop - Structure and Limits: Preventing and Managing Problem Behavior - 10:00am on Zoom

February 7-9 - Course Selection for Next School Year

February 17 - Career Day

February 18 - Battle of the Books!

February 18 - Teacher Professional Development Day - No Classes for Students

February 21 - Tentative Date for Returning to School

MS Honors Assembly Sem 1 202021
Big picture

Counselor's Corner

February is finally here and we are starting to think about our futures. We have been focusing our recent advisory sessions on what the future could possibly hold in terms of a careers and we are also thinking about our next academic year course selection. February 17th we will be having our Career Day and speakers with many differents career paths and university students preparing for the future will be joining the students for zoom sessions. Students will also be getting ready to choose their courses for their next year in middle school. February 4th we will also be having Parent coffee morning on Structure and Limits: Preventing and Managing Problem Behavior. It will certainly be a busy and productive month!

Secondary School Library News!

The Secondary School Library is very excited to present, "If you loved the movie, you'll love the book". We are featuring over 120 books in our collection that have been made into films and TV series. Due to the MOE decision to not have students come to school till 21 February, we will keep this theme and display up until students are able to return to campus. Come and see what you may not know was a book before it was ever a movie or TV series and check them out.

Student of the Month - Sarah Hasheesh

Sarah Hasheesh, Grade 6 Student, has been online and learning independently from abroad for the entire school year. Her communication skills are superior and she is a model student. Congratulations, Sarah!

Teacher of the Month - Amira Nabhan

Amira's wonderful communication skills make her a perfect co-worker and teacher. She is always ready to share ideas, make things better, and move our students forward. It is a joy to work with her.

Owlimpia Intellencuals Challenge

Email Mr. Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - if you are interested in joining this exciting international competition. This is open to all Middle School students.

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We have been building our background knowldege about both Nigeria and Sceince Fiction in order to get ready to read our next book Zahrah the Windseeker by Nigerian American author Nnedi Okorafor.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Students began Lesson 15, "Population Dilemmas in Europe". The essential question is "How do population trends affect a countries future?"

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We will finish up with addition and subtraction of fractions, mixed numbers, and word problems and continue with multiplication and division of fractions, mixed numbers, and word problems. Chapter 8 in the textbook.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

In science we will wrap up the unit on geologic time - exploring Earth's history. We will then begin a unit exploring Earth's atmosphere and the solar system.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: مراجعة على ما سبق دراسته التربية الدينية الإسلامية: مراجعة على ما سبق دراسته

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة ( زيارة ومفاجآة) القواعد والاملاء : مراجعة علي ما سبق دراسته

Arabic SS 6 - Asmaa Mahmoud- amahmoud@aiswest.com

مراجعة علي ماسبق دراسته

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 6, we will learn French numbers, days of the week and the months so learners can talk about their age and their birthdays.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will continue practicing numbers, and will learn the days of the week and the months so learners can talk about their age and their birthdays.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Once you play a theatre game or perform on stage, you never forget


In Drama, we start our classes with warm-ups, theatre games, learn about Drama expressions, stage positions, we will reflect on our own experiences, watch inspiring videos, talk and experience about theatre jobs and why teamwork is important. And last but not least, we will know the difference between monologues and dialogues, what an audition is, how to prepare for it and, of course, perform!

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

We have being working on what is a robot, and how it can be programmed to accomplish an specific task. During this month we'll work on how to use sensors data to improve and automate the robot behavior.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

In PE students are learning how to create their own workouts using the F.I.T.T. model. They are using their fitness goals to create a personal fitness program which they can then use at home. We are also building community and exercising as a group with fun activities during our Zoom sessions.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning how to use pattern and line to create Zentangle artworks.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

We will read The Breadwinner, and continue working on sentence construction, grammar and punctuation.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

Students will move fluidly between numbers expressed as percentages, fractions, and decimal numbers.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

After we finish up learning about the cell cycle, we will use our knowledge of how traits get passed down to continue our discussion on how different species have changed over time.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

Once we wrap-up Ancient India, we will move further east to explore the achievements of the different dynasties of Ancient China.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud - smahmoud@aiswest.com

مراجعة عامة لما سبق دراسته في اللغة العربية والتربية الدينية

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Once you play a theatre game or perform on stage, you never forget


In Drama, we start our classes with warm-ups, theatre games, learn about Drama expressions, stage positions, we will reflect on our own experiences, watch inspiring videos, talk and experience about theatre jobs and why teamwork is important. And last but not least, we will know the difference between monologues and dialogues, what an audition his, how to prepare for it and, of course, perform!


French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

We will continue learning our topic on family. After naming people in their family, next students will learn French adjectives so they can describe (appearances and personalities) people in their family.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will learn and practice how to describe people, paying attention to noun-adjective agreement.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة ( قصة الصبي والاناء) القواعد والاملاء : مراجعة علي ما سبق دراسته

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

During this month students will show their comprehension of the MDA framework through a video essay of their favorite video game, and later, by building a Krunker.io map that shows the user how specific changes in the mechanics of a game impacts the overall aesthetic experience of the gamer.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning how to use pattern and line to create Zentangle artworks.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning the history of Jazz dance.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

مراجعة علي ماسبق دراسته

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

In PE students are learning how to create their own workouts using the F.I.T.T. model. They are using their fitness goals to create a personal fitness program which they can then use at home. We are also building community and exercising as a group with fun activities during our Zoom sessions.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

Students will continue exploring and dissecting argumentative writing in order for them to be able to write a flawless argumentative essay by the end of this unit.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

Students will start utilizing their factoring skills into solving quadratic equations. We will start working with chapter 19, solving equations using factorization.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

In History class, the students are moving ahead with the Italian Renaissance, having recently completed a project on Renaissance Art. Now they will turn their attention to the advancements that took place in the Renaissance period, aided heavily by Humanism. This will culminate in a Prezi Presentation.

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

Students will examine how light behaves in different settings. We will explore how humans make use of light and why we perceive it the way we do. Students should be able to demonstrate their understanding of light using a real-life application of their knowledge by the end of our unit.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will use direct object pronouns to describe clothing: example, I wear a white blouse OR I wear it.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

We will continue learning our topic Mon année scolaire. We will focus on grammar, students will learn the different articles and group of verbs.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

We will continue working on how to visually represent algorithms through flowcharts.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة : قصة الصبي والاناء القواعد والاملاء : مراجعة علي ماسبق دراسته

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: مراجعة على ما سبق دراسته التربية الدينية الإسلامية: مراجعة على ما سبق دراسته

Arabic Social Studies 8 - Mahmoud Sharkawy- msharkawy@aiswest.com

مراجعة ما سبق دراستة في كل التاريخ والجغرافيا

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning how to use pattern and line to create Zentangle artworks.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning the differences of Jazz dance styles.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Once you play a theatre game or perform on stage, you never forget


In Drama, we start our classes with warm-ups, theatre games, learn about Drama expressions, stage positions, we will reflect on our own experiences, watch inspiring videos, talk and experience about theatre jobs and why teamwork is important. And last but not least, we will know the difference between monologues and dialogues, what an audition his, how to prepare for it and, of course, perform!


Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

In PE students are learning how to create their own workouts using the F.I.T.T. model. They are using their fitness goals to create a personal fitness program which they can then use at home. We are also building community and exercising as a group with fun activities during our Zoom sessions.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Band members are working hard to learn new music. Progress is slower now due to the different instruments involved and the time lag of sound during class on-line. For the beginner groups we are currently learning new music, our first band piece, on p.13. For the middle school band we have been working on Beauty and the Beast. We are all hoping to be able to perform these pieces for a concert when we return later this semester.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool