Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 11.20.22

Big picture

Why we do what we do!

Together with our families, we work with over 520 students ranging from 11-14 years of age with both academic and emotional levels that vary. As Port Susan continues to look at our AAP (Annual Action Plan) for this school year, our focus as educators will continue to be on the strategies we use as "educators". From our staff in the office, custodial, kitchen, instructional assistants, bus drivers, teachers, coaches, SLPs, OTs, counselors, psychologists, health room, student support advocate, our mental health counselor, along with our families, we ALL have an impact on the middle school experience.


The image above was part of a late entry to our HIB contest and I really thought this is a good image of the importance of working together through this journey of education. It takes us all to be unified in the work together! Please know that I am thankful and feel fortunate to be able to work you in this journey of supporting students. I hope you continue to see the positive impact that we make with our students and understand the importance of this work.

Advisory - Microaggressions

Throughout the year, we talk with students about appropriate communication and the impact of what words we use. Our lesson led to good conversations in our advisory classrooms this past week.
Teenagers Discuss Microaggressions and Racism #HatchKids

Student Recognition

This past week, we had the honor of recognizing our students at the district level. Congratulations and THANK YOU for making a positive impact on our school community!
Big picture

Shining Star!

Congratulations to Ella Omelchenko, who received this month's Shining Star Award during the School Board Meeting Tuesday.

  • Ella has shown herself to be smart, creative and has a desire to learn.
  • Ella is an active and contributing member of the classroom. She pays attention to detail when she is working on her sewing projects in Home Ec. and she is very helpful in the kitchen. Ella is a pleasant and patient student to work with.
  • Ella enters each day with a positive attitude and an eagerness to succeed. She works diligently to complete her activities and puts thoughtful effort into her work. Ella is kind to others and helps to celebrate in their success. She has done an excellent job advocating for herself and is working hard to achieve her goals.
  • Ella works hard in every class, raises her hand, is respectful to her peers and teachers, has no missing assignments, is able to bounce back quickly from challenges, and is excited to learn new things! Ella truly is a Shining Star!
  • Ella consistently works well in her classes and participates in activities. She is a wonderful member of the PSMS community.

We appreciate you, Ella!

Big picture

Support PSMS Band!

PSMS Band has kicked off our Butter Braid fundraiser. We're running sales until December 2nd. Online orders have been a big plus for students and customers, so don't forget about that handy option if you're interested in buying some from a student.


Click HERE to Order & Pay Online! (select seller, then order)


Sales end: December 2nd

Delivery: Friday, December 9th (after school) - students pick up and deliver

Community Resources

For families in need of support or connection to resources/services, please feel free to reach out to our Student Support Advocate, Amy Hart. Amy can help answer questions, connect families to community resources, and share needed information on programs and services that may be helpful. Amy is here to help however possible, and can be reached via phone (call or text) or email: 360-965-8249 or ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu.

Girls' Volleyball Sign-Ups

Girls' Volleyball will begin on Wednesday, November 30th. There will be 4 teams: 7th Grade JV, 8th Grade JV, 7th Grade V, and 8th Grade Varsity. Tryouts will be Nov 30-December 2 from 2:30-4pm. Once teams are decided, there will be rotating practice times to give teams more space in the gym. Coaches will be sharing their practice times with their team.

The match schedule is found here. This is a live document and will be updated as things change or if we are able to secure a bus for transportation.


IMPORTANT DOCUMENTS:

Athletic Registration: An Athletic Registration Form must be completed either online or by hard copy prior to turning out for practice. This includes emergency contact information, insurance and the Athletic Code.


Sports Physical: All athletes must have a current sports physical (good for 2yrs) turned into the office BEFORE turning out.


ASB Card/Pay to Participate: Each participant must purchase an Associated Student Body card and Pay to Participate fee before the first contest. The ASB card is $20, Pay to Participate is $50 per sport ($100 maximum per year; Free/Reduced options for those who qualify).


Transportation: In the event that we cannot get a bus to out-of district competitions (due to bus driver shortage), we will have district vans. However, seating is limited, so the Stanwood/Camano School District is allowing families to arrange transportation to and from competitions when this occurs. These families will agree to provide their own transportation to and from away competitions and understand that the district assumes no liability/responsibility for the athletes during the transportation times. The waiver will need to be signed and returned to your athletic director prior to your first out-of-district event. *Hard copies of the waiver can be picked up in the office or from your athlete's coach Parent Transportation Waiver for Middle School Sports

Inclement Weather Reminder

As the weather forecasts indicate, we may see cold weather this winter. I wanted to share with you how we make the determination to delay or close schools due to ice, snow, flooding, etc.

  • Safety first! We consider the safety of our children on buses, our student drivers, families driving and walking to school, and the safety of our staff, especially our bus drivers.

  • We monitor weather patterns using multiple methods 24/7. In particular, we use a tool called Accuweather that is specifically designed to support school districts in looking ahead at weather patterns.

  • When there is a concern about school starting on time, our staff begins driving the roads throughout the district as early as 2 a.m. We take photos, check road conditions, monitor traffic, look for hazards, etc. We typically drive the roads multiple times in the early morning to determine if conditions are improving, worsening, or staying the same.

  • We strive to decide about the school day by 5 a.m. Once the decision is made, we begin communicating with families and staff. We communicate through:

    • Autodialer (via School Messenger)

    • Email (via School Messenger)

    • Website

    • Flash Alert


Predicting the weather is a challenge, and our primary goal is to ensure that the roads are safe, our campuses are easy to navigate, and the weather does not impede a safe school day. Find the 2022-23 snow routes HERE.

Week of 11/21 through 11/25

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory SEL lesson (Crysty & Cherae)

Basketball @ Cascade MS


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory Academic Support


Wednesday:

*Spirit Day (see below)

White Wednesday (7:40 - 10:40am)

Period 1 7:40-8:12

Period 2 8:15-8:42

Period 3 8:45-9:12

Period 4 9:15-9:42

Period 5 9:45-10:12

Period 6 10:15-10:40


Thursday:

No School


Friday:

No School


Student Calendar HERE


Linked below are previous communications. Please continue to reach out with any questions you have. You can email me directly (calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu) or call our office at 360.629.1360

October 30th

November 6th

November 13th

Big picture
Big picture

Have a question? Please reach out...

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tamara Pedersen (6-7 Math) tpedersen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Stunz (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) lstunz@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Jeffrey Trammell jtrammell2@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joshua Keaton (7/8 History) jkeaton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6 Social Studies) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History & ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Amy Hart (Student Support Advocate) ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu

Taylor Little (Mental Health Therapist) tlittle@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.