September 24th Jefferson Journal

Newsletter 24

Link to WSD Covid Dashboard, Elementary and Secondary Matrices

https://www.wausauschools.org/about-wsd/covid-19-information


As we enter the 2021-22 school year, the Wausau School District is offering the highest quality educational experience for students. We are taking several steps to monitor and mitigate the spread of COVID. We are also taking steps to minimize the time lost to quarantines.

We are working with the Marathon County Health Department to monitor and mitigate the spread of the virus in our community and our schools and will revisit our protocols as necessary at any point during the school year. Public health is a whole community effort and the District can not be successful on our own. Below are some practices that families can take, as well as, the school district.

Ipad Insurance


If you have not paid your $10 iPad insurance fee, please do this as soon as possible. Here are the ways you can get this to the office.


  • Mail a check to Thomas Jefferson at 500 W Randolph St. Wausau, WI 54401.
  • Log in to the Parent Portal of Infinite Campus and pay with a credit card online.
  • Drop off the payment (in an envelope with your child's name on it) at school, entrance #1.


Your coverage after paying the insurance is as follows:

The first repair due to accidental damage will be fully covered. The second repair due to accidental damage will be fully covered. All remaining repairs will be billed to the family at 50% of actual cost. Fully replaced iPads will be billed at 50% of actual replacement cost. (District retains replaced device.)


If you decline to pay the insurance, you take full financial responsibility for any loss or damage to the device issued to your child.


District Technology Help Line:
715-261-0833

Upcoming Events


September 21st: Volleyball starts. Every Tuesday and Thursday for four weeks.

October 4 & 5th: 4th Grade Visits the Little Red School House

October 5th: Bike to school day

October 11th: PTO meeting at 5:30pm in Library

October 13th: 4th Grade visit a Farm

October 26th: Conferences from 3:30-7:30pm

October 27th: Conferences from 12:00-8:00pm


Cuab Hli 21: Pib Ntaus Pob. Txhua nub Tuesday hab Thursday. Ntaus plaub asthiv

Kaum Hli 4 & 5: Qaib 4 Moog tom Lub Tsev Lab

Kaum Hli 5: Caij lub luv tees tuaj kawm ntawv

Kaum Hli 11: Nam/txiv naikhu muaj saablaaj thaum 5:30 tsaus ntuj huv Library

Kaum Hli 13: Qaib 4 moog saib Farm

Kaum Hli 26: Nam Txiv tuaj ntsib Naikhu 3:30 - 7:30 tsaus ntuj

Kaum Hli 27: Nam Txiv tuaj ntsib Naikhu 12:00 - 8:00 tsaus ntuj

Parent Reminders


Visitor / Volunteers

Anytime that visitors are in the building between 8:15 and 3:45, you must use the main entrance and check in with Mrs. Steckling in the office. While there, you will be asked for your driver's license as part of our security protocols to ensure we have safe and trusted adults in the building. You will then receive a visitor badge to enter the rest of the building.


This does include the beginning and the end of the school day. If you are dropping off or picking up your children, you will not be able to enter the building without checking in with the office first.


If you are volunteering in a classroom, you need to apply to the O.N.E. program to complete a background check by clicking on the following website:

https://app.betterimpact.com/Login/Login

Attendance Information

Please call the Thomas Jefferson office to report any absences. Even if you have notified your child’s teacher(s), please still notify the office of any absences or appointments. Please remember to call before 9:00 am. If calling the school before the office is open please leave a voice message for us with your child's name, reason for the absent (if ill what the symptoms are please see below) who is calling and a phone number where you can be reached if there are any questions.


If you have a student in K-5th please contact :

715-261-0175 or you may also email Mrs. Tranchita at ctranchita@wausauschools.org


If you have a student in 4K please contact:

715-261-0185 or email Mrs. Channel at achannel@wausauschools.org



WSD COVID GUIDELINES 21-22


Students must stay home from school if they have the following symptoms.


One of these symptoms:

❏ New or worsening cough

❏ Shortness of breath/difficulty breathing

❏ New loss of smell or taste


___________________________________________________________________________________________


Two or more of these symptoms:

❏ Fever over 100.4/Chills

❏ Diarrhea

❏ Sore throat

❏ Runny nose/congestion

❏ Headache

❏ Fatigue

❏ Nausea/vomiting

❏ Muscle/body aches


___________________________________________________________________________________________


  • If a student has symptoms, it is recommended that they immediately be tested for COVID, regardless of vaccine status.

  • The student may return to school with proof of a negative PCR COVID test or an alternate diagnosis from a medical practitioner.

  • If parents choose not to have their child tested, the student is presumed positive and must stay home for 10 days, be fever-free for 24 hours without fever-reducing medication, and have improvement of symptoms before returning to school.

  • If a student or anyone else living in the home tests positive, all students in the home (unless vaccinated and not showing symptoms) must quarantine for the 10 days of the positive person’s isolation PLUS an additional 10 days quarantine, a total of 20 days. If the positive person can isolate away from the students, the other students in the home must quarantine for 10 days from the last contact with the positive person.

  • Parents are asked to notify the school if a student later develops symptoms or tests positive for COVID.

  • If your child is identified as a close contact to someone outside the home, follow the directions from the health department.


Contact the Marathon County Health Department with questions. 715-261-1900

Save The Date October 5th Walk or Bike to School Day

Big picture
Big picture

Bussing Questions??

We are happy to help answer bussing questions as best we can. Often times, however, First Student Bus Company is your best first contact.


First Student Contact Information:

715-842-2268 Phone

715-845-5155 Fax


First Student policy required ALL bus riders to wear a face mask. If your student is a bus rider, please make sure they have a mask for the before and after school bus ride.


Field Trips require all riders to wear a mask. Please remember to have a couple masks in your students backpack so they are prepared when attending field trips.

Leader in Me

Big picture

Nutrition Services Information

Wausau School District is participating in the USDA Seamless Summer Option (SSO) for the entirety of the 2021-2022 school year. This means that our school is providing free meal (breakfast and lunch) to all students! This program provides additional support and flexibility for our district to continue serving meals to children while maintaining safety measures and managing the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.


We still ask that you complete the free and reduced application online if you have not done so already. Our school receives extra funding from the free and reduced applications and is very important to have them filled out. Here is a link to complete the free and reduced application online by clicking here

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Infinite Campus Portal Sign up

All families will want to sign up for Infinite Campus parent portal. This portal allows you to see grades, pay school fees, update phone numbers and addresses and check busing information. To set up your portal:

  • Go to the District’s website: www.wausauschools.org
  • Choose Parents at the top of the page
  • then choose Infinite Campus Portal
  • Select Campus Parent
  • Select New User (Bottom of the white panel titled Wausau School District)
Enter the Activation Code to complete the registration process

If you do not have your Activation Code, please email Patty Knapp at pknapp@wausauschools.org

Create your own username and password. Once you have established your own username and password, the activation code listed below will no longer be valid.

PTO Information

The next PTO meeting is scheduled for October 11th, 2021 at 5:30pm in the Library

WSD COVID 19 Protocols 2021-22

This letter is designed to inform you of the Wausau School District's COVID-19 protocols as we begin the 2021-22 school year. Please know that guidelines and protocols can change at any time and without notice. If that happens, we will be sure to notify you as soon as possible.


Masks and Face Coverings

  • As of June 8, 2021, the policy in the Wausau School District states that masks and face coverings are optional in all district buildings.

Social Distancing

  • All students will be offered an in-person spot at their home school. Social distancing will not be followed in most situations.

Cohorting

  • Students will not be cohorted during the 2021-2022 school year.

Sick Students, Staff, and Visitors

  • Students, staff, and visitors who have symptoms of infectious illness, such as influenza or COVID-19, should stay home and be referred to their healthcare provider for testing and care.

Attendance

  • All students will attend their home school in-person. Those students who wish to remain virtual will need to enroll at WAVE.

  • When quarantined, students are expected to continue learning by completing lessons and classroom work. Teachers will continue to make daily lessons and classroom work available through Itslearning or Seesaw and will be available for support.

Quarantining

  • Those who test positive for COVID-19 are required to isolate. Marathon County Health Department will contact all positive cases.

  • Marathon County Health Department will also implement all quarantines.

Contact Tracing

  • Marathon County Health Department will conduct all contact tracing.

  • School nurses will make the Marathon County Health Department aware if they are notified of a positive COVID-19 case.

Cleaning and Disinfecting

Per CDC guidelines, cleaning once a day is sufficient to remove potential viruses that may be on surfaces. Disinfecting kills any remaining germs on surfaces.

  • Cleaning will be completed once a day by custodial staff.

  • If there’s a positive case of COVID, and the case is known within 24 hours, the space will be cleaned AND disinfected by custodial staff.

Filtration

  • MERV-13 filtration will be used throughout the district to balance energy use and air quality.

Hand Washing and Hand Sanitizer

  • Hand sanitizer will be available in every classroom and at the main entrance of each building.

  • Hand washing with soap and water for 20 seconds will be encouraged at all levels. Elementary students will have a hand washing schedule.

Classroom Materials

  • Classroom materials can be shared. Students will wash hands or use hand sanitizer after using shared materials.

Big picture

Wausau West Elementary School Basketball League

This flyer will be sent home with 4th & 5th grade students to sign up
Big picture

Staff Directory

Principal: Mr. Johnson bsjohnson@wausauschools.org

Secretary: Mrs. Tammy Steckling tsteckling@wausauschools.org

Building/ Office para: Mrs. Colette Tranchita ctranchita@wausauschools.org


Health Aid:

Megan Bach- mbach@wausauschools.org


Pupil Services

Counselor: Ms. Sue Doerr sdoerr@waususchools.org

Social worker: Mrs. Morgan Knetter mknetter@wausauschools.org

Psychologist: Mrs. Amanda Melville amelvill@wausauschools.org

Bridge Room Coordinator: Ms. Amber Sparby asparby@wausauschools.org


4K Staff

Mrs. Amber Channel achannel@wausauschools.org

Ms. Samantha Kniess skniess@wausauschools.org

Mrs. BreAnne Wais bwais@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Renee Krautkramer rkrautkr@wausauschools.org

Mrs. May Xiong maxiong@wausauschools.org


Kindergarten Teachers

Mrs. April Voigt avoigt@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kelly Hummel khummel@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Katelyn Veith. kveith@wausauschools.org


1st Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diana Gartzke dgartzke@wausauschools.org

Mrs Deb Treager dtreager@wausauschools.org

Mr. Matt Schilling mschilling@wausauschools.org


2nd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diane Eder deder@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Carrie Helke cahelke@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Taylor Frank tfrank@wausauschools.org


3rd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jill Ebersold jebersol@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Sandy Knoll sknoll@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Heather Trollop htrollop@wausauschools.org


4th Grade Teachers

Mrs. Leslie Ninnemann lninnema@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kary Riggs kriggs@wausauschools.org


5the Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jen Davidson jdavidso@wausauschools.org

Ms. Emily Fritz efritz@wausauschools.org


Encore Team

Art- Jennifer Lingford jlingford@wausauschools.org

Gym- Christin Sullivan csulliv@wausauschools.org

Science- Tori Dienger vdienger@wausauschools.org

Music- Sana Wressell swressel@wausauschools.org

Library- Jennifer Moore jmoore@wausauschools.org


Special Education

Justine Callahan jcallahan@wausauschools.org

Kim Ickert kickert@wausauschools.org

Jennifer Faust jfaust@wausauschools.org


Gifted & Talented

Mrs. Cheryl Borta- cborta@wausauschools.org


EL

Mrs. Paokee Xiong. paxiong@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Lisa Alexander lalexand@wausauschools.org

Halle Veenstra- hveenstr@wausauschools.org


Title I

Mrs. Amy Akey- aabitzak@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Trenny Frahm- tfrahm@wausauschools.org


Speech

Michelle Debot mdebot@wausauschools.org


Translation support

Eileen Thao ethao@wausauschools.org

The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).