TXVA Family Newsletter

Volume 12 Feb. 17, 2016

Big image

Important Dates

Testing Dates!

March 29-April 1: STAAR testing (Grades 4, 5, 7, 8) AND
EOC for English I and II

May 2-6: HS EOC testing (some of our teachers will be out helping with this testing)
May 9-12: STAAR testing (grades 3-8) and Retesting (grades 5,8)
May 18-22: Spring Scantron Testing Window
June 21-24: STAAR retesting (grades 5,8)
July 11-15: HS EOC Retesting

We want to make sure you and your student have what you need to continue to be successful as the school year progresses. We value your feedback and ask that you answer super short surveys that will be emailed to you at various points of the year. The next survey will be coming out on Tuesday, February 23rd (via email) and should take less than a minute to complete. The feedback from these surveys will help us better support you and your student.

We appreciate your consistent feedback as we work together to make this a great school year. If you ever need immediate assistance, please contact your teacher/advisor or please visit http://www.k12.com/support.

Can you spare 2 minutes? We would love to share your words with our amazing teachers. Please click on the below link to fill out a quick appreciation survey for our teachers.

Random Acts of Kindness

The Counseling Dept is encouraging students to do random act of kindness.

Daily Themes:


Mentor someone who needs support.

Theme for February 19th: Teachers and Faculty

Compliment someone to their boss.

Answer that kmail/email you have been avoiding.

Tell a teacher something they have helped you learn.

Help someone new.

Write a note to a teacher from your past.

We are so glad that you chose TXVA! Did you know we offer a Parent Mentor Meet Up? Mark your calendar for the upcoming Mentor Meet Ups: 3/1/16, 3/24. 4/5/16, 4/28/16, 5/10/16. A link will come to your kmail on the day of the session. Click on the blackboard link below to watch the recording from our last MMU!

Big image

Learning Coach Math Help

Tuesday, February 23rd - Solving Algebraic Equations
12:30 pm ET / 11:30 am CT / 10:30 am MT / 9:30 am PT

These workshops will help you guide your students to the correct answers by taking you through the steps to problem-solving success. A supportive and friendly workshop taught by a K12 parent, for parents who want to brush up on their own math skills.

Join By Clicking Here

The Road to College Just Got Easier

Monday, February 22nd

6pm ET / 5pm CT / 4pm MT / 3pm PT

Learn all about the college application process, finding scholarships, getting a competitive edge, the importance of starting the process early, choosing the right school for your student and your wallet, and so much more. This first module "Planning Your Journey"- Introduction- Laying the Foundation for College 101 is just the first in a series of hour long workshops with Q&A called "The Road to the Fat Envelope". The workshop series breaks down the entire process into manageable segments and gives you a detailed road map with a downloadable pdf for each session. K12 is pleased to make these workshops available only to our online schools. This is a one-of-a-kind workshop series and you will have access to information that Private College Consultants charge thousands of dollars for, admissions insider information and an honest parent perspective. These workshops have been created, designed and passionately researched for over 5 years by Pamela Gray Willcox, a former K12 school learning coach with admissions, marketing and private college counseling experience. A current parent of high school and college age students, she will give it to you straight up from a perspective you can relate to. You will hear things about college planning you have never heard before so don't miss this exciting introductory workshop.

7-11 grade Families are encouraged to attend.

Join By Clicking Here

Interested in the above workshops but cannot attend? Please click below to view our past programming and see recordings of upcoming workshops.

Did you know we have a new TXVA Facebook page for our West Houston families?

Minecraft, coding, oceanography, robotics, anyone? Want to join one of our amazing Student Clubs? Click on the above link to see what we have to offer!

Do you want to get out of the house a bit? Would you like to meet up with some other TXVA kids? Click below to see what outings are coming up. Bookmark this site because we add to it weekly.

Big image

Are you a new family? Here are some basics to help you get a solid foundation. Click below for our Strong Start Site. There are many wonderful orientation videos and parent recordings as well.

With Valentine’s Day this month, we’d like to remind you that everyone deserves a safe and healthy relationship. Remember, love has many definitions, but abuse isn’t one of them. If you or someone you know has a question about a relationship, healthy or unhealthy, visit loveisrespect.org or text “loveis” to 22522.

•Nearly 1.5 million high school students nationwide experience physical abuse from a dating partner in a single year.

•One in three adolescents in the U.S. is a victim of physical, sexual, emotional or verbal abuse from a dating partner, a figure that far exceeds rates of other types of youth violence.

•One in 10 high school students has been purposefully hit, slapped or physically hurt by a boyfriend or girlfriend.

http://www.loveisrespect.org/

For questions or more info, contact:
Sara Perez, Family Resource Coordinator
469.616.0434
sperez@txva.org
Big image