Trix Family News

Week of January 10, 2022

Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins

Good evening Trix Families,


I hope everyone had a safe and productive weekend. Tomorrow begins our Hybrid Learning Model for Trix Academy Scholars. I want to thank the parents who came to collect their scholars technology on Friday. I appreciate you patience as we work together to make decisions that are best for our scholars.


Our goal with this Hybrid Virtual Learning Model is to give some comfort to the large number of parents who have expressed their concerns on bringing their scholars to school because of Covid numbers, while still allowing parents who want their scholars in school, needs met as well.


As stated Monday, January 10, 2022 through Friday, January 14, 2022 all scholars will participate in virtual learning. Parents who signed up for their scholars to participate in virtual learning in the building should arrive to school by 8:05am. Breakfast will be served for those scholars and they will log in by 8:30am. Parents must show proof of a negative covid test when scholars arrive on Monday. Accepted proof will include hard copy forms, emails, or screen shots with date of test and scholars name from testing sites.


If you have not picked up your scholars technology please do so so tomorrow anytime after 9:30am.


MLK Day will be recognized on Monday, January 17, 2022. There will be no virtual instruction taking place and school will be closed. Scholars will return to in-person face to face instruction on Tuesday, January 18, 2022. Below are some free testing site in the area:


In addition, we are going to continue to support our at home scholars with our supplemental food program. Food distribution will take place on Wednesday, January 12th from 1pm-3pm. Please contact the school prior so we can have your box ready. All food bundles include both breakfast and lunch for five days.


I will send communication out on this Friday, January 14th, to give parents an update on where we are and if any additional changes need to be made.


Let's make it a GREAT WEEK!!!


Ms. Perkins

Tips for Online Learning for Scholars

While may seem obvious when it comes to online learning, a new medium of communication can tend to throw off some of our instincts for proper etiquette, so we thought it would be helpful to provide a baseline of expectations from which teachers can draw as they work to develop an ideal online atmosphere for learning.


1. Be On Time

2. Wear Proper Attire

3. Choose a good quiet and comfortable location to learn.

4. Mute yourself if you experience unavoidable background noise.

5. Be ready to take notes. Use you notebooks and or provided materials while in session.

6. Give your full focus and attention. (No television or other distractions)

7. Participate Fully and Ask Questions

8. Do not dominate the conversations and Be Careful with your Words


I look forward to checking in on your sessions and seeing you all engaged and learning!!

Covid News

Big picture
Big picture

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Simone Clark, Teacher s.clark@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Lakesha Williams, Teacher - L.Williams@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Dwight Walls, Teacher - d.walls@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.