The Best Place On Earth!

Quebec's Independence Movement

In Quebec, the majority of the residence was french. 81% Of the residence spoke french and had french as their main language. France was the first country to actually make it to Canada and claimed it for them. But the British ended up becoming part of Canada. Since many French Canadians thought their culture would disappear since Great Britain controlled most of Canada, a majority of people wanted to secede from Canada. They ended up having a political vote and the results: 49.4% to secede and 50.6% to stay.

Since then multiple laws have been passed to help preserve culture and language of the French Canadians.

Canada's History

The history of Canada covers the period from the arrival of Paleo-Indians thousands of years ago to the present day. Canada has been inhabited for millennia by distinctive groups of indians people with distinct trade networks and spiritual beliefs. Some of these civilizations had long faded by the time of the first European arrivals and have been discovered through archaeological investigations. Various treaties and laws have been enacted between European Settlers and the Indians.

Beginning in the late 15th century French and British expeditions explored, and later settled, along the Atlantic Coast. France ceded nearly all of its colonies in North America to Britain in 1763 after the French and Indian War. In 1867, with the union of three British North American colonies through Confederation, Canada was formed as a federal dominion of four provinces. This began a want in provinces and territories and a process of increasing autonomy from the British Empire, which became official with the Statue of Westminster of 1931 and completed in the Canada Act of 1982, which severed the vestiges of legal dependence on the British Parliament.

Over centuries, elements of Native, French, British and more recent immigrant customs have combined to form a Canadian Culture. Canadian culture has also been strongly influenced by its linguistic, geographic and economic neighbour, the United States. Canada currently consists of ten provinces and three territories and is governed as a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state.

Big image