Medal of Honor Winner

WWI heroes Johnson, Shemin to receive Medal of Honor

Two soldiers will be recognized with the Medal of Honor almost 100 years later

Sgt. William Sherman and Pvt. Henry Johnson will be honored with the nation's highest award for valor on June 2 by President Obama. Shemin joined the Army on Oct. 2, 1917, and was a member of G Company, 2nd Battalion, 47th Infantry Regiment, 4th Division, American Expeditionary Forces. He will be recognized for his actions Aug. 7-9, 1918, during combat operations near Vesle River, Bazoches, France. Johnson joined the Army on June 5, 1917. He was assigned to C Company, 15th New York (Colored) Infantry Regiment, an all-black National Guard unit that would later become the 369th Infantry Regiment.
Big image