Federal court system

Haleigh Yarborough

District Court

Where trials are held and lawsuits are started. ALL states have at last one district court. District court has original jurisdiction, which means the authority to hear the case for the first time. District courts hear both civil and criminal cases. Each District court has at least two judges.

Appeals Court

Reviews decisions made by the lower court (District court). Each Appellate court has between six and twenty-seven judges. The Appeals court has appellate jurisdiction, which means the authority to hear a case appealed from the lower court. Appeals court does not hold trials, and they also do not determine guilt or innocence only if trial was fair. There are 12 court of Appeals. There are three decisions used by the Appeals Court: uphold which is confirm or supporting the case, Overturn which is reversing the decision of the case, and Remand which is sending the case back to the lower court to be tried again. Most Appeals Court decisions are final

Supreme Court

Judges in the Supreme Court are often called justices. There are nine judges in the supreme Court. The president appoints the judge, but have to be approved by the senate before becoming a full on judge. Once you become a judge you are one for lifetime or until you decide to resign, but you can be removed through the process of impeachment.