The Sun

By: Macy Goodson

Big image

Layers of the Sun

  • Core- This part of the sun produces all of its energy. The energy is made by nuclear fusion, and this energy produces the heat we feel on Earth. The core is located in the middle of the sun. The core is very dense, and has a temperature of about 28 million degrees.
  • Radiative Zone- This layer of the sun is the one directly above the core. The light produced in the core travels through this zone. This layer is slightly less dense than the core, but light can stay in the radiative zone, bouncing around, for up to 100,000 years.
  • Convection Zone- The convective zone sits above the radiative zone. This is also where that light and heat travel through. Gases near the core begin rising and falling in this zone.
  • Photosphere- The photosphere is the beginning point for the sun's atmosphere. This layer is considered the surface of the sun. It is where the sun's light is emitted. Sunspots and solar flares originate from the photosphere.
  • Chromosphere- This layer has a reddish glow to it. It is usually very hard to see this glow, unless it is and overcast day or a solar eclipse if occuring.
  • Corona- The corona is the outermost layer of the sun, and considered the crown. It is also very faint, and is only visible during a solar eclipse.
Big image