The New England Colonies

Connecticut, Massachusettes, Rhode Island, and New Hampshire


Connecticut was founded in 1636 by Thomas Hooker. This colony was filled with Puritans which did not allow any religion. It's economy was manufacturing and shipbuilding. In 1637 the Pequot War began. It was between English settlers and the Pequot tribe. The English would later win that war.


Massachusetts was founded by John Winthrop. John Winthrop is known for this quote "We shall be as a city on a hill" The Pilgrims established Plymouth after they sailed over on the Mayflower bringing with them the Mayflower Compact in November 11, 1620. This colony was mainly Puritan. The Salem Witch Trials began in 1692 and lasted for three months. The Puritans wanted to purify any sin or anything that wasn't right in there eyes. That's what caused the Salem Witch Trials.

Rhode Island

Roger Williams was the founder of Rhode Island. Roger Williams was exiled out of Massachusetts for not following Puritan beliefs. Not long after Anne Hutchinson was also exiled for the same reason. Roger decided to establish a colony for people that didn't agree with Puritan beliefs.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire was founded in 1638 by John Mason. New Hampshire was governed as a Royal Colony. The colony as believed in Puritan ways. New Hampshire's economy was based on manufacturing and shipbuilding.