By Michael Riddle


Ecuador is one of the two countries in South America that doesn't border Brazil. It is located on the western border of South America, and its capital is Quito. Four major cities include Ambato, Riobamba, Quevedo, and Guayaquil.

Government and Economy

Ecuador is a Republic, and their leader is currently President Rafael Correa. The official language in Ecuador is Spanish, and they use U.S dollars. Also, their economic system is capitalism. Ecuador was never under the control of another country, however, it was once a part of the Inca empire. It gained independence in 1533, during the Spanish conquest.
Big image

Flag of Ecuador (above)

As your can see, the Ecuador flag is composed of three different colored horizontal stripes of yellow, blue, and red. The Ecuador coat of arms is included in the center of the flag, as visible.

What to Visit

Ecuador is very famous for the Galapagos islands, because of their well-known creatures, such as the Galapagos Tortoise, the largest (land) tortoise in the world.

Interesting Facts

  • Ecuador produces $2 trillion in bananas every year
  • The Panama hat was originally invented in Ecuador
  • In Ecuador, trash trucks play music, just like our ice cream trucks