Welcome to Dare County

Land of Beginnings

A Little History

Dare County is in the Coastal region of North Carolina. The surrounding counties are Currituck County to the North, Hyde County to the southwest, and Tyrrell County to the west. Dare County was founded in 1870, and was named after the first English child born who was named Virginia Dare. Manteo was founded in 1870 as the County Seat to Dare County.

How The County Is Governed

Want to learn about and influence Dare County? Come to a Board of Commissioners meeting. The board is responsible for the county budget, the special projects of the county, and setting the property tax. The Dare County Board of Commissioners consists of a seven member body elected to four year staggered terms. The County Manager is Robert L. Outten. (Pictured Left)

Taking a Family Vacation?

The Town of Manteo

The town of Manteo has a strong community within its borders. The Board of Commissioners meets the first Wednesday of every month at 6:30 pm in the Town Hall at 407 Budleigh Street. As well as a Workshop Session held the third Wednesday of each month at 4:00 pm. The boards members consist of Mayor Jamie Daniels, Mayor Pro Temp Darrell Collins, and the following commissioners Richie Burke, David Farrow, Hannon Fry, Nancy Peele, and Christine Walker.

Come Visit Dare County!