The Cub Hub

Frost Elementary News

October 2021

Big picture

Calendar

September 30 - Report cards sent home with students

October 4-8 SchoolStore Fundraiser; Fire Prevention & Safety Week

October 5 - PTO Meeting @ 3:45 in the Cafeteria

October 11 - Holiday

October 12-15 Biking & Walking Safety Week

October 15 - End of three-week progress period

October 25-29 Red Ribbon Drug Awareness Week

November 5 - End of second six week grading period

Free Breakfast & Lunch

All students are provided a free tray upon request for breakfast or lunch this year. Students must take a complete tray and must enter the serving line at the beginning of the meal time. A la carte and extra items are not free, so students must bring money or have money in their account to purchase individual items.

PTO Meeting October 5

Are you the parent of a Frost ISD student?

Are you a teacher at Frost ISD?

If the answer to either of those questions is yes, you're encouraged to join our PTO for $5 a family. You're also invited to the PTO meeting Tuesday, October 5, at 3:45 in the school cafeteria. In the past, PTO participation & contributions have made possible scholarships, family hot dog suppers, book fairs, Christmas stores, Angel Trees, teacher appreciation luncheons, and more!

SchoolStore Fundraiser Begins October 4

Watch for envelopes coming home Monday, October 4, with information about our SchoolStore fundraiser. You can help us raise money that is used to support our students and teachers. Your generous support and donations in the past have allowed us to purchase items such as classroom supplies and student incentives.

Students who return their envelopes with the prize code from signing up at www.schoolstore.net the week of October 4 will receive an animal hugger prize. Other prizes may be earned based on sales. See the pictures below for more information, and thank you for your support of our school programs!

Big picture

October is Safety Month

This is a great time to review safety with your family at home:


Fire Prevention & Safety: Does your family have a fire escape plan? Do you have working smoke & carbon monoxide detectors in your home?


Biking & Walking Safety: Have you taught your child about safety near streets? Does your child have a helmet for biking?


Drug Safety: Are your medicines stored in secure locations out of reach of young children? Have you taught your child the importance of using medicines correctly with adult supervision?


Emergency Contacts: Does your child know how to contact help if needed, including calling 911? Does your child know your first and last name? Does your child know your address?

Fire Safety Minute
Big picture

Got Questions?

Please don't hesitate to contact us at school any time you have questions. Communication will allow us to work together as partners with you to best meet the needs of our students. Below are some guidelines to help you connect with the most helpful person when you need information:


General School Information
- Reina Suaste, Front Office, 903-682-2541

If Ms. Suaste can't answer your question, she'll direct you to the person who can, and she's fluent in both English and Spanish.


Your Child's Progress & Classroom Concerns - Your Child's Classroom Teacher
Classroom teachers may be contacted by email or by leaving a message at the front office. Many classroom teachers also utilize Remind. Anytime you have a question, start by asking the teacher most directly involved (For example, if you have a question about reading class, ask the reading teacher. If your question is about something that happened in PE, ask the PE teacher.)
PE - Melissa Souder, melissa.souder@frostisd.org
Fine Arts - Melanie Bland, melanie.bland@frostisd.org
Technology - Sharon Hanson, sharon.hanson@frostisd.org


Special Education - Crystal Allinen, crystal.allinen@frostisd.org


Learning English as a Second Language - Marisela Perez, marisela.perez@frostisd.org

Dyslexia Intervention - Beth Roughton, beth.roughton@frostisd.org


Reading Intervention - Lisa Bland, lisa.bland@frostisd.org

Gifted/Talented - Elaine Woods, elaine.woods@frostisd.org

Counseling - Lara Herd, lara.herd@frostisd.org


Discipline Referrals - Janet Carson, janet.carson@frostisd.org


Library - Stephanie Reynolds, stephanie.reynolds@frostisd.org


Nurse/Medication/COVID - Lauren Campbell, RN (903) 682-7348 lauren.campbell@frostisd.org or Jennifer Rasco, Assistant (903) 682-7355 jennifer.rasco@frostisd.org


Cafeteria/School Meal Accounts - Aubrey May, aubrey.may@frostisd.org


Technology Assistance - Trecia Woodall, trecia.woodall@frostisd.org


Section 504/ Other Unresolved Issues - Kristy Fulton kristy.fulton@frostisd.org

Employment Opportunity

We continue to experience a need for high-quality candidates to add to our substitute teacher pool. If you or someone you know in the Frost area loves working with children, holds a high school diploma or GED, and is interested in a flexible, part-time job, applications and more information are available on the Frost ISD web page or at the school. Filling in for teachers is a great way to get involved in our school community!
Big picture
Big picture

#PolarBearPride