Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 12/12/21

Port Susan Events

This past week, we welcomed a number of our families into the school for events and this will continue this week! In addition to sporting events, our students had the opportunity to perform for their first concert in almost 2 full years. As shared at the concert, the only students in the gym that had performed at all throughout middle school were in part of our Concert Band. Those students had only one concert in 6th grade before shut down and are now 8th grade students! It was a great night last night and we're looking forward to Beginning Band on Tuesday!


CONCERT #2: Beginning Band (all 3 classes combined)

TUESDAY, Dec. 14th @ 7:00pm in the PSMS Gym

(students arrive by 6:25pm)


***MASKS REQUIRED AT ALL SCHOOL EVENTS

Holiday Spirit

Our students continue to have hands on experiences throughout the year. In home ec, students just finished up holiday patchwork hotpads in their sewing unit. If you have the chance to check out the artwork in our hallways in our office area, it's even better in person (pictures below)! Such a great atmosphere is created when student work is on the walls!
Big picture
Big picture

Club Opportunities

We look forward to students participating in our clubs as well as homework support opportunities. With one week left until winter break, it is a great time to check Skyward and join us after school to complete assignments. We have teachers to support all content areas and in addition to homework support time in advisory, students are finding this after school time valuable.


If you missed the opportunity to join Running Club the first round, we encourage you to join this round. The first meeting time will be Monday after school and then it will pick up again after Winter Break. Take a look at your google classroom for more information on all clubs and activities.

Big picture
Big picture

Leadership Activities

We encourage students that are being dropped off by parents to arrive a little earlier this Wednesday to enjoy some hot cocoa and music performed by some band members. Sales will begin at 8:15 a.m.!


Spirit days this week will be Twin Day on Thursday and Festive Day on Friday. As always, you can wear either Knights or Spartan gear as well to show your spirit!

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

This Wednesday! Save the Date!

Our next PTO fundraiser will be a MOD pizza day. On Wednesday, December 15th, you can have lunch or dinner to support PSMS PTO. Thank you!


https://www.groupraise.com/events/213450


Eat Pizza and Raise $$$ for the PTO? It’s a win, win. Mention the Port Susan PTO when you order in person on December 15th,or use the coupon code GR213450P to order from Mod’s website (Stanwood Mod location only).

Big picture

Community Resources Available!

With the holiday season approaching, we wanted you to be aware of the community resources available to our families. Please reach out to Amy Hart (Student Support Advocate) ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu if you have any questions.
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

District Information

The Stanwood Camano School District’s Special Education Preschool is looking for participants for their model peer program for the 2022-23 school year. This program includes four year old preschoolers, and is typically in the afternoon class sessions. The program is tuition-based and preschoolers from the community attend along with students enrolled in the special education developmental preschool. These community preschoolers serve as speech language, behavior and motor model peers for the children receiving special education services, while getting a high quality preschool experience themselves. If you know of a child who may be interested in participating, please contact Ghvette Bergstrom in the Preschool Program @ (360) 629-1250.

Snow Route Information

Our transportation department has released Snow Routes for the 2021-2022 School Year. Please take a moment to review your student(s) routes should bus routes be changed due to snow, ice or other wintery weather conditions.


To ensure that you receive our calls about important school information, please help us by keeping your emergency contact information current in Skyward Family Access.


Skyward Family Access Login Instructions - English

Skyward Family Access Login Instructions - Spanish


Your contact information, including your phone numbers and email addresses, are synched with the School Messenger notification system we use to send out emails and phone calls.


Another great way to receive notifications is to sign up for FlashAlert. This is the system that media uses to create the “crawl” on TV stations for school districts in the region. Visit https://www.flashalert.net/id/StanwoodSD to receive notifications of closures or late starts. The FlashAlert app is available free for iPhone or Android mobile devices.

Week of December 13th through 17th

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Lesson

Varsity VB Game vs Post

Boys BB @ Post


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Beginning Band Concert


Wednesday:

Hot Cocoa Fundraiser 8:15 a.m.

VB @ Cedarcrest

Boys BB vs Cedarcrest

Mod Pizza PTO Fundraiser


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

*Twin Day*

Advisory - Homework Support

7/8 VB @ SMS


Friday:

Regular Schedule

*Festive Day*

Advisory - Homework Support


**Winter Break 12/18 through 01/02**


**Next family message will go out January 2nd, 2022**

We hope everyone enjoys the holidays!

Cherae Almanza, Principal


Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal


Our commitment

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.

Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.


El Distrito Escolar de Stanwood-Camano School District no discrimina en sus programas o actividades por motivos de sexo, raza, credo, religión, color, origen nacional, edad, condición de veterano de guerra o grado militar, orientación sexual, expresión de género o identidad, discapacidad o uso de perro guía entrenado o animal de servicio, y ofrece igualdad de acceso a los Boy Scouts y a otros grupos de jóvenes especificados. El empleado mencionado a continuación ha sido designado para atender consultas y quejas de supuesta discriminación: Título IX / Oficial de Acción Afirmativa y Coordinador de Cumplimiento de Derechos Civiles, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), o la Sección 504 / Coordinador de la Ley de Discapacidades Estadounidenses, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu), Distrito Escolar Stanwood-Camano, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Teléfono: (360) 629- 1200.