Jeffries Elementary

January 2017 Parent Newsletter from Dr. Liz Cooper

Big image

January Dates:

Wednesday, Jan. 4- Welcome back! Students & staff return for 2nd semester!

Thursday, Jan. 5- PTA Exec. Mtg.- Conference Room 6:30PM

Friday, Jan. 6- Leadership Assembly (Dec. & 2nd Quarter Awards) with Staff Jump Rope for Heart Competition kick-off at 9:30AM- see below for details. 2nd Quarter grade cards go home with students.

Mon., Jan. 9- Duck & Cover & Fire Drill? (back to back to practice evacuating gym)

Tues., Jan. 10- Jaguar Junction

Monday, Jan. 16- No School (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)

Friday, Jan. 20- Inauguration Day

Tuesday, Jan. 31- 4th Grade Field Trip to the Springfield Symphony (district sponsored)

Big image

Jump Rope for Heart- see Coach Fielding for details

Jump Rope for Heart will take place January 6th - January 20th. Packets will go home the 6th and be due 20th. During Jump Rope for Heart students will learn about different ways to stay heart healthy as well as raise money for the American Heart Association!

The students who raise the most money in each grade will get to play Egg Roulette with Coach Fielding, Dr. Cooper, and Mr. Dake. The class that raises the most money will receive a Popsicle party. Students will also be able to earn rewards as they raise money.

Big image

Looking Ahead (Some Tentative Dates):

Thursday, Feb. 2- PTA Exec. Mtg. 6:30PM in the Jeffries Conference Rm.; Groundhog Day

Friday, Feb. 3- Leadership Assembly; Mid-3rd Quarter

Tuesday, Feb. 7- Jaguar Junction; PTA Mtg. with 2nd Grade Performance 7PM

Friday, Feb. 10- 5th Grade goes to Carver

Tuesday, Feb. 14- Valentine's Day parties 2:30-3:30PM (led by homeroom parents)- see your child's teacher for details.

Monday, Feb. 20- President's Day (no school)

Thursday, March 2- Dr. Seuss Day (dress like your favorite Dr. Seuss character);

Jeffries PTA Fun Night at Jump Mania 6-8PM w/ a PTA Exec. Mtg. at 6:30PM there (all invited to attend)

Friday, March 3- Leadership Assembly 9:30AM

Tuesday, March 7- PTA Mtg. with 1st Grade Performance 7PM

Thursday, March 8- End of 3rd Quarter

Friday, March 10- No School for Students (Professional Work/Learning day for Staff)

Monday, March 13-17- Spring Break (No School for Students)

Wednesday, March 22- Spring Pictures, Class Pictures, 5th Grade Graduation Pictures

Thursday, April 6- Jeffries Skating Party (Skateland on S. Campbell)

Thursday, April 13- Kindergarten Field Trip to Dickerson Park Zoo

Thursday, April 27- Jeffries Fine Arts Night 5PM

Tuesday, May 2 or 3rd (TBD)- 4th Grade Field Trip

May 1-5- Teacher Appreciation Week

Friday, May 5- Jeffries PTA Spring Fling 6:30PM

Tuesday, May 9- 4th Grade Field Trip- Frontier Theatre

Monday, May 15- Last Leadership/Celebration Assembly 9:30AM; 100% Attendance Limo/Lunch for qualifying students

Tuesday, May 16- Jeffries Talent Show

Thursday, May 18- Last day of school w/5th Grade Graduation (pending snow days)

Big image

Jeffries Announcement Leaders

As part of Jeffries Leadership Program, students have the opportunity to have leadership roles within their classrooms & some school-wide. This month, we are featuring our Announcement Leaders. Each morning these students lead the school with our morning announcements. Each announcement leader has a job: announcement leader, food expert, news reporter, and celebration announcer. They begin by leading the school in the pledge and mission statement. They share with the school what important events are coming up, what is for breakfast, any birthdays and celebrations there may be, and they read leader slips for students going above and beyond as leaders.

Big image

Teacher of the Month Highlight

Name: Carol Marlatt - 2nd Grade Teacher

Years at Jeffries: 18

Years in Education: 25

Degrees: Bachelors and Masters in Elem. Ed.

Favorite Children’s Book: Charlotte’s Web

Hobbies Outside of School: Camping, spending time with family and friends, reading

Interesting Fact or Something You Would Like Others to Know About You: We have a Harley and I love riding it!!

Big image

Team Member Highlight of the Month

Name: Stacie Allen- Art Teacher


Years at Jeffries: 10

Years in Education: 16

Degrees: Bachelor of Science, Fine Arts/K-12 certified; AAS, Commercial Art Technology

Favorite Quote: "If you can dream it, do it!" ~Walt Disney

Favorite Children’s Book: Pippy Longstocking

Hobbies Outside of School: Flea Markets, Furniture Refurbishing, Sewing

Interesting Fact or Something You Would Like Others to Know About You:

We live in the country, and we love it! We are planning on getting a donkey this summer!

Mrs. Allen, Art Teacher, would really appreciate baby wipe donations! Feel free to donate a package or even a box to make it easier to keep the room clean!