Required Professional Development

Monday, February 22, 2016

Expectations for the day:


  • Work in grade level teams to plan for the remainder of the third semester (i.e. quarterly pacing guide, weekly lesson planning, identify instructional resources, etc.)
  • Create ideal daily schedule for the 2016-2017 school year to be provided to representative in preparation for the Master Schedule Team meeting on Tuesday, February 23, 3:00 until 4:00
  • K-5 teachers gather student math assessments for data dives
  • Grade level chair will share updated quarterly planning documents with administrative team by end of day

Schedule


  • 8:00-8:15 Assortment of quiches from J & S, cinnamon rolls from the Asheville Biscuitry, & Coffee
  • 8:15-9:15 Update from the Be Proactive Team on rewarding and tracking student behavior as it relates to the 7 Habits. Update on The Leader in Me at Claxton.
  • 9:15-9:45 Certified staff, specialists, and 4th grade team remain in gym for a brief meeting on snow days, leave forms, & district updates
  • 12:00-1:30 School Improvement Team Budget Meeting-Bring your lunch to the meeting.

Upcoming Events

  • Saturday, February 27, Volunteers at Claxton from St. Paul's
  • Monday, February 29, Tea & Talk with the Superintendent for Claxton Families in the CLX media center
  • Tuesday, March 2, PTO Meeting at 6:00 pm at the Grant Center
  • Friday, March 11, Early Release, PTO provides lunch for staff
  • Tuesday, March 15, Math Carnival and Chicken Dinner from 5:30 until 7:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 16, K-5 Career Fair in gymnatorium from 9:00 until noon
  • Friday, March 18, Light the Night Auction at the YMI Cultural Center
  • Saturday, March 19, Spring Grounds Work Day
  • Thursday, March 24, Family Voices/Community Outreach at the Grant Center from 5:30 until 7:00
  • Friday, March 25, Optional Work Day
  • Monday, March 28, through Friday, April 1 Spring Break