The Seahawks Call

Week of March 15, 2021 Volume 25

Delayed opening for Virtual Students ONLY on March 22nd


Time is winding down. We have ten more days before March 22nd when select students finally enter our doors for the first time since March 13, 2020 for instruction. Currently, Somers will have approximately 116 students reporting to school from 7:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Therefore, we need time to explain the new processes and procedures to ensure a smooth transition, which means there will be a delay for any student learning in the virtual setting. Students learning in the virtual setting will not join their first period class from 7:30 - 8:30 a.m. Students learning in the virtual setting will join their third period class, which begins at 9:00 a.m. Please mark your calendar!

Revised Bell Schedule to accommodate Hybrid Instruction

The Bell Schedule and several other procedures have been revised to accommodate hybrid instruction. Please review the revised Bell Schedule which will begin when Phase 2 students return on Monday, March 22, 2021.

Eighth Grade Proofs

All 8th grade students are required to submit two current proofs of domicile to update their student record for high school. Please see the attached parent letter for details. Parents may upload the proofs through ParentVue or email the proofs directly to our guidance secretary, Ms. Matos, at rmatos@ccboe.com. The deadline to submit these proofs is April 12, 2021.


Students who turn in acceptable proofs of domicile will be entered into a weekly raffle. The earlier your proofs are submitted, the more chances to win! Prizes will vary.


Families should contact Pam Jenkins, PPW at pkjenkins@ccboe.com if they need assistance with proofs or have questions.

Have you ordered your Yearbook yet?

Attention Seahawks,

We still would love to see what you have been doing. Send us some candid shots of you playing in the snow, hanging out with your pets, playing games (video, board, or card), you in your distance learning space, celebrations, playing sports, or maybe a new hobby you have picked up over the past few months.

Lastly, this year is definitely one you’ll remember—make sure to order your 2020-2021 yearbook today. Prices will go up and personalization will no longer be an option after March 31st, 2021.

If you have any questions about submitting photos to the yearbook or ordering one, please email Ms. Strobel at mstrobel@ccboe.com or Ms. Villela at avillela-villela@ccboe.com.

Library News from Mrs. H-J!

Somers Reads! Seahawks continue to rock their reading and logging minutes into Beanstack. We are currently the number 1 middle school for total minutes of reading logged – 248,376 minutes for the year! We are also the top middle school for participation, with 67% of our students participating in Beanstack challenges and logging their reading! Way to go Seahawks!!!!!!!!!!


Library Reminders – There are still lonely library books out there that want to rejoin their Somers library companions on the shelves. If you have any Somers library books, please drop them off during school hours in the Book Return box in the school lobby. Thank you for making a lonely book happy!

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.