Panther News

March 2, 2022

Tracy Junk, Attendance Secretary; Amoreana Collins, Head Secretary; Thelina O'Daniel, Principal 503-661-1510

Check out Powell Valley’s Website: https://www.gresham.k12.or.us/pves, or Twitter @Panthers_PVES

Message from the Principal

Hello Families!

Powell Valley has always been known for our STEM focus. We have a space here that is called the Makers Space. It is a classroom full of exciting things that students can use to create and innovate!

We are in need of a parent volunteer(or two), preferably someone who has a tech, science, or art background. This person would work closely with the teachers here at PVES and help to organize the space and be a connection when the students are using the space.

If this sounds like something you would like to help us with please reach out to me at odaniel@gresham.k12.or.us.

Counselor's Corner


Dear Parents and Caregivers,


My thoughts are with those families who have been impacted by the recent news from Ukraine. If your student(s) need to process feelings regarding what is happening, please feel free to reach out to me.


We are continuing our lessons on ways to stay safe, to recognize when something is unsafe, to report anything unsafe to a trusted adult, and to refuse to participate. I urge students to talk to you as their parents/guardians to give them three contacts (information with phone numbers) of trusted adults who they can call when an emergency arises and they are without you. You play the most important role in helping your child stay safe.


Remember to contact 2-1-1 if you are in need of food, utility or housing assistance or check out their website https://www.211info.org/ to find out the latest information. Additional resources can be found here: GBSD Food Resources. If you receive SNAP benefits, please contact your local self-sufficiency office to inquire about assistance.


Warmly,

Nelia Collins

School Counselor

Collins25@gresham.k12.or.us

Kindergarten Registration Opened March 1st

If you have a child that will be 5 on or before September 1st please register now! If you have friends, family or neighbors in the Powell Valley district with upcoming fall kindergarteners please let them know registration is open! Please visit our website, click here http://powellvalley.gresham.k12.or.us

You will need access to your ParentVUE account and an email address to complete the registration process.


Book Fair

"Hello Families!


This week, February 28th to March 4th we are going to be having another book fair! Your students will be coming home with a flyer highlighting books that will be available.


In the meantime you can go to our book fair's website at https://www.scholastic.com/bf/powellvalleygradeschool1.


On the website you will be able to check out the digital flyer, shop online when the fair starts and access the eWallet option for the fair, a digital payment option that allows for adults to add money to an account for their student rather than having them use cash.


We look forward to sharing in the kids' excitement for this upcoming book fair!"

Yearbook order are due


TO ORDER VISIT:

BuyTheYearbook.com


Sale Ends March 31,2022

PTC Corner

PTC is in the planning stages of Spring Carnival. It is taking place on Friday May 6th 5:30-pm. We will have games and a raffle. If you are wanting to volunteer for any part of Carnival please reach out via email at powellvalleyptc@gmail.com. We will need help setting up, running games and take down. We will also be reaching out to local businesses for donations for our raffle prizes. If you know of any businesses who would like to help out or support our school, please let us know.

In-District Transfer Window Open March 1-31

GBSD is accepting In-District transfer as of March 1st-31st. Click here for more details

Welcome back Volunteers!!!

  • Every person with a desire to volunteer for the Gresham-Barlow School District is required to fill out a Volunteer Background Check Form and undergo a Volunteer Background Check.

SCHOOL START & END TIMES

It has been a while since we've had a regular start and end time here at Powell Valley Elementary. Here is a friendly reminder of our times:


Start/End times on Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri

8:30-3:05 the tardy bell will ring at 8:35.


Start/End times on Wednesdays

9:30-3:05 the tardy bell will ring at 9:35

Upcoming events

March 2022


Feb 28th - Mar 4th - Book Fair

7th - PTC Meeting 6:30pm - Meeting Link

10th & 11th NO SCHOOL

21st - 25th Spring Break - NO SCHOOL

March 28th-April 8th - PTC Penny Wars Fundraiser


April 2022


4th - PTC Meeting - 6:30pm (in person @ PV library)

19th - Connect to Kindergarten - 5:00pm-6:30pm

22nd - No School


May 2022


2nd - PTC Meeting - 6:30pm

2nd-6th - Teacher Appreciation Week

6th - Powell Valley PTC Carnival - 5:30-8:30

13th - No School

24th - Music Concert - 2nd & 4th Grade - 6:30-7:30

30th - No School - Memorial Day

Please contact your teacher if you have any questions:

Amy Galloway - galloway3@gresham.k12.or.us

Ashley Kelley - kelley23@gresham.k12.or.us

Colleen Kai - kai@gresham.k12.or.us

Daniel Saffer - saffer@gresham.k12.or.us

Doug Robertson - robertson24@gresham.k12.or.us

Greg Kirkelie - kirkelie@gresham.k12.or.us

Janelle Drelleshak - drelleshak@gresham.k12.or.us

Jennifer Cano - cano4@gresham.k12.or.us

Joanna Bihler - bihler@gresham.k12.or.us

Julie Poetsch - poetsch@gresham.k12.or.us

Katie Hanson - hanson45@gresham.k12.or.us

Kimberly McCaffrey - mccaffrey@gresham.k12.or.us

Kimberly Schilling - schilling@gresham.k12.or.us

Marinela Ionescu - ionescu3@gresham.k12.or.us

Melissa Castellanos - castellanos@gresham.k12.or.us

Michael Stephens - stephens10@gresham.k12.or.us

Molly Edeline - edeline2@gresham.k12.or.us

Nelia Collins - collins25@gresham.k12.or.us

Robyn Glove - glove@gresham.k12.or.us

Shane Park - park2@gresham.k12.or.us

Traci Stout - stout@gresham.k12.or.us