Florence Update

February 12, 2016

Dear Florence Families,

We began this week with a great performance from our first grade students. We want to extend a very special thank you to all the parents and volunteers that helped to make it such a wonderful experience. With a lot of great learning and teaching in the middle, we ended the week with our annual Valentine Parties. It was a great time to celebrate friendship, caring, and kindness...and have a little fun!

Keep in mind that it is a three day weekend for students. Hope you have a great Valentine's Day!


Love,

Laura

From the Florence Elementary Library - Check it out the innovative tools and processes being implemented in Keller ISD!!!

Big image

Using Devices to Search for Books - Ann Lallande

Students use the new Library automation system, Destiny, to search for books, check their accounts, and read eBooks. We have devices in the library that the students can use to search. Using devices to search allows them to walk around and have the information at their fingertips.


Your student can log in to Keller ISD’s KCloud to access Destiny and other FES and KISD digital resources. I have taught many lessons to help them with this. If they do not remember their login, please stop by the library, call or email ann.lallande@kellerisd.net and I will give you the login information.


You can also access Destiny, the library automation system, by going to:

Destiny6.esc11.net

Click on Keller ISD

Click on Florence

Search the catalog, read eBooks, go to databases. Students can login to view what they have checked out.

Big image

Congratulations to our 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year - Second Grade Teacher Sunday Gregory!!!!

Big image

Upcoming Dates and Events


  • February 15th: Student Holiday
  • February 19th: Spirit Store and Spirit Day
  • February 25th: 6:00-7:00 Play It Safe Parent Preview in the Computer Lab.

  • February 26th: Spaghetti Dinner and Talent Show - Forms

Thanks

Thanks to PTA, our room moms, and volunteers for all their work for the Valentine parties!!!


Thank you to PTAs Andrea Saitis and her volunteers for providing snacks and treats for this week's staff meeting. They were delicious!

Please see below for some very important links and info!

Florence Elementary

Laura Lockhart - Principal - laura.lockhart@kellerisd.net

Farah Rehman - Assistant Principal - farah.rehman@kellerisd.net

Angelina Bowen - Counselor - angelina.bowen@kellerisd.net

Leigh Anne Nelson - Nurse - leigh.nelson@kellerisd.net

Dana Shumake - Secretary - dana.shumake@kellerisd.net

Pris Brown - Receptionist/Attendance - priscilla.brown@kellerisd.net

Jeanne Devine - Receptionist - jeanne.devine@kellerisd.net

Georgia Altom - PTA President - georgiaaltom@gmail.com