TRIX ACADEMY

May 5, 2021

Dates to Remember

5/7/2021 - MSTEP Make Up

5/10/2021-5/13/2021 - MSTEP Make Up (3rd, 4th, 6th, 7th Grade)

5/10/2021 - NWEA (5th and 8th Grade)

5/14/2021 - Progress Reports

From the Desk of the Principal

Hello Trix Academy Family!


Thank you to all of the families who have ensured your child(ren) has taken his/her MSTEP assessment. Unlike NWEA, Michigan's state assessment must be taken in person. Make Up days are continuing to take place for 3rd-8th grade scholars. Please continue to look for information regarding the make up days. If you have any questions, please contact the office at (313) 426-1020 or email d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.


Sincerely,


Detra Coleman, Ed.S.

Trix Academy School Leader

NWEA Testing

Beginning May 10, 2021, the spring session of the NWEA assessment will take place. Scholars are able to take the assessment remotely, however for our younger scholars, logging into the testing session can be a challenge. As a result, it is important for someone who is older to assist with logging in only. It's also important for scholars to take the test on their own and not receive help answering any question. During the first week of NWEA testing, scholars in grades 2, 3, 5, and 8 will complete their math and reading assessments. If you have any questions, please call the office at (313) 426-1020 or email d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.

Re-Enrollment

Trix Academy has started the process of re-enrolling scholars for the 2021-2022 school year. All parents were emailed a link to complete the re-enrollment process. Please check your email to re-enroll your child(ren) as soon as possible. To help locate the email, please look for "Set your SchoolMint password to access Phalen Leadership Academies" in the subject line. If you have any questions or need assistance completing the re-enrollment process, please contact the office at (313) 426-1020.

Summer Advantage

Phalen Leadership Academies is partnering with Summer Advantage USA to offer a 5-week summer learning program to our scholars AT NO COST TO YOU! Beyond being one of the nation's ONLY scientifically-studied summer programs proven to improve academic scores, Summer Advantage also artfully incorporates engaging enrichment activities every afternoon for a FULL DAY of learning & fun for our scholars! To enroll your scholar, please visit www.summeradvantage.org and click the yellow 'enroll here' button. Program specifics are below.


Location: Trix Academy (in-person)

Dates: June 28, 2021 - July 30, 2021

Times: Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM until 2:30 PM

Grades: 2nd - 6th

Contact: d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

High School Information

Various high schools are beginning to hold virtual tours and webinars. Please see the list below for dates and times.


Virtual High School Visits:

“Virtual Visits” are a 1 hour introduction of each school that are led by current high school students and staff - a great opportunity for your students to learn about school options, the high school experience, and ask questions!


Application High School Virtual Visits

Benjamin Carson High School of Science and Medicine (5/11 or 5/18 at 12 p.m.) Register Here!

Detroit School of Arts (5/10 at 2 p.m.) Register Here!


Exam High School Virtual Visits

Cass Technical High School (5/12 at 5 p.m.) Register Here!

Martin Luther King Jr. Senior High School (5/6 or 5/13 at 1 pm.) Register Here!

Renaissance High School (5/19 at 5 p.m.) Register Here!

The School at Marygrove (5/13 at 6 p.m.) Register Here!



Informational Webinars


Exam High School WebinarsRegister Here

Wednesday May 26 at 6 p.m.

This 2-hour info sessions will showcase all six Exam High Schools, provide information on the on the admissions process, and offer ample time for questions.


Application High Schools Webinars – Register Here!

Thursday May 20 at 5:30 p.m.

This 2-hour info sessions will showcase all six Application High Schools, provide information on the on the admissions process, and offer ample time for questions.

Facts About Attendance

Trix Academy is continuing to help all of our scholars participate in the learning process on a consistent basis. Based on an abundance of research, children who miss an excessive amount of school follow a pattern that does not lead to being successful in school.


  • Missing school in the early grades can have a snowball effect. It sets kids up to fall behind in the fundamental reading skills they need in order to move on to more complicated work.

  • Each day of learning builds on the previous day. When kids miss a few days in a row, it can be hard to follow subsequent lessons. And when kids aren’t in school, they’re missing opportunities to be identified for intervention and extra supports.


In the midst of the challenges we are currently facing, it is important for our scholar(s) to log into class on a daily basis. Receiving first hand instruction on a consistent basis is critical to the learning process.

Technology Device Care Tips and Incentive

Trix Academy is in its last card marking for the 2020-2021 school year. In the upcoming months, communications will be sent regarding the process to return technology devices in June. For those who have taken care of technology devices an incentive will be given. Please continue to follow the technology care tips below.


  • Ensure the case remains on the iPad or Chromebook
  • Ensure food and drinks are not around the technology device
  • Ensure scholars are stationary when using the iPad or Chromebook
  • Monitor data usage on the hotspot
  • When lessons have concluded for the day, ensure the scholar places the device in the same location for the next day
  • Ensure technology devices are plugged in to charge at the end of the school day in order for scholars to have a fully charged device for the next school day.


If you have any questions, please let me know via email at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org or by calling the office at (313) 426-1020.

Breakfast

Trix Academy serves breakfast daily from 8:05am - 8:30am in each classroom to ensure social distancing is being observed. It is very important for all scholars to arrive at breakfast time to eat breakfast and begin learning at the start of instructional time.

Staff Email Addresses


Leadership

Detra Coleman, Principal - d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org



Sheilene Smith, Office Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org


Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Matthew Bowman, Academic Interventionist - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher Assistant - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Darryle Cross, Teacher Assistant - d.cross@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher Assistant - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Christine Truesdell, Teacher - c.truesdell@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher Assistant - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher Intern - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, Teacher Assistant - a.keys@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Paige DeRue, Teacher Assistant - p.derue@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Student Enrollment

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org