Plaquemine High School

October 2017 Newsletter

PHS Mission Statement

Plaquemine High School will provide leadership, instruction, and challenging programs to all students in a safe and orderly environment.

Mrs. LoBue's Leadership Tips

Before you are a leader, success is all about growing yourself. When you become a leader, success is all about growing others.

Jack Welch

Former GE Chairman and CEO

PHS Leadership Team

Big image

Open House- Thursday, October 12th

Timeline of Events

3-5pm: If you need to schedule a parent/teacher conference, then please reach out to the teachers to set a time.

5-7pm: We are inviting all parents and guardians to come meet the teachers, check grades, and take an active role in their learning. We are also asking the parents of seniors to come meet us in the library to discuss all things FASFA, college applications, and ACT. We will have several resources available for parents to take away and help their child begin the college application process.


If you can not make it to meet with the teachers on Thursday, then on Friday, October 13th you will be able to schedule a parent/ teacher conference from 1-3pm. Friday, October 13th will be a professional development day for faculty and staff members.

Tips for Taking the ACT

  • Draw pictures. It really helps to visualize the problem. Your sketches can be quick and a little messy. You should create tables and write out equations too.
  • Think before computing. Look for a way to reason through the problem. Don’t just go for your calculator. When you do use your calculator, try to have an idea of what your answer should be.


http://www.chegg.com/test-prep-blog/act/act-general/top-50-strategies-for-act-test-day/

Please be on the lookout for PHS positive notes that will be mailed home at the end of the first nine weeks period.

Big image

Access Health Center

The Health Center is open during school hours. You must have your Health Center Consent & Enrollment form turned in to be seen by the Nurse Practitioner. If you need a form, stop by the Health Center for a copy or log onto the school’s website, click on “Health Center” and download a form from there. For more information, call (225) 369-6510 or email us at plaqueminehigh@accesshealthla.org.
Big image
Big image

Curriculum Corner

Here at PHS, we want to continue to bridge any gaps between home and school. Here are some FREE resources that you can use to help your child with homework at home and to also reinforce the skills being currently taught in the classrooms.


Math

Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/

Illustrative Mathematics https://www.illustrativemathematics.org/

Math Planet https://www.mathplanet.com/

Science

Discovery Kids http://discoverykids.com/

The Lawrence Hall of Science http://static.lawrencehallofscience.org/kidsite/

Science Daily https://www.sciencedaily.com/

Social Studies

Interactive Sites for Education http://interactivesites.weebly.com/social-studies.html

Brainpop https://www.brainpop.com/

Smithsonian Education http://smithsonianeducation.org/index.html

English/ Language Arts

Sheppard Software http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/web_games_vocab.htm

Mr. Nussbaum http://mrnussbaum.com/langgames/

ReadWorks https://www.readworks.org/

Student Attendance

Please be aware that when a student is late to school 5 times, and/or when a student has 5 unexcused absences, their paperwork is turned over to the Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance, Mrs. Brandi Blanchard. This process continues for multiples of 5 unexcused absences and/or late to school occurrences, (i.e., 10, 15, 20, etc.).


It is important for students to be in school everyday!

Teachers of the Month- August

Teachers of the Month- September

Upcoming Events for October

3- Volleyball vs. Belaire

4- Volleyball vs. Catholic High

5- Volleyball vs. Scotlandville

6- Football vs. Tara

10- Volleyball vs. Broadmoor

11- End of the 1st 9 Week Period

11- MS Football vs. White Castle

11- Jostens (Juniors/ Seniors)

12- Volleyball vs. Lee High

12- Parent/ Teacher Conferences 3-5pm

12- Open House 5-7pm

13- Football vs. Parkview

13- Parent/ Teacher Conferences 1-3pm

16- Fall Break

17- Fall Break

18- Volleyball vs. Tara

19- MS Football vs. East Iberville

19- Volleyball vs. Woodlawn

20- Football vs. St. Michaels (Homecoming)

21- Homecoming Dance

23- Volleyball vs. Northeast

24- Volleyball vs. Live Oak

26- Volleyball vs. Belaire

27- Football vs. Woodlawn

27- October Laptop Pickup

Club/ Sport Spotlight- PHS Dazzlers Dance Team

Big image

Club/ Sport Spotlight- PHS Stars Dance Team

Big image