First Grade Newsletter

November 17th-21st

Fill the Bus Update! NISD Food drive ends the 18th!

Dear Parents,


We are challenging all first graders to bring at least 100 cans by next Tuesday the 18th. If they do Ms. Rocha will get pied in the face!!! Your child will need to bring in their cans to the classroom so that each first grade teacher can keep count of all the cans. We are looking forward to helping our campus win the challenge and seeing Ms. Rocha get a pie in her face!


Sincerely,

The First Grade team

Thanksgiving Feast

Dear Parents,


We are very excited to have a First grade Thanksgiving feast this year! It is a chance for you to celebrate and give thanks with your child at school. We are excited to have many of you attend! It will be held on Thursday, November, 20th @ 10:40 a.m. following our awards assembly.


Sincerely,

The First grade team

4th grade Service Learning Project

Dear Parents,


Fourth grade is participating in "The Great Bedtime Story Pajama Drive" and will need your help! They will be sending out a letter from a fellow Bulldog with all the details for participation. Let's just say it will include a pajama day and sweet donations for young children all over the world :) Keep watch for more to come!


Sincerely,

The First Grade team

Learning Targets

A Learning Target is the desired goal of each task in which your child will actively be involved. In addition, it engages your child in reflective evaluation of their own performance.

Each week you can ask your child about the learning target to ensure a great conversation of "what did you learn at school today?"


Readers and Writers Workshop:

Students will learn how to identify attributes of Pat Mora books so that; they can better understand her writing style as well as make connections as to how her books are interrelated.


Social Studies:

Students will compare and contrast the first Thanksgiving to the Thanksgiving of today so that; they can learn from the past and continue to contribute and make a brighter future.


Math Workshop:

Students will be learning how to order and measure the "capacity" (amount of space) of

containers using non-standard units of measurement. They will learn how to use a balance to assist with the comparing non-standard units with common objects so that; the estimated and actual weights can be determined.


Science:

Students will discover rocks, soil, and water so that; they can explain what our Earth's natural materials are as well as how they are used in our every day lives.

Upcoming Events

November 18th: Math Night from 5:30-7:00 p.m.

November 17th-21st: Book Fair

November 19th: J.A. in a Day

November 20th: K-2 Awards ceremony @ 9:45 in the gym

November 20th: First grade Thanksgiving Feast @ 10:40 in the cafeteria

November 21st: Life touch picture re-takes

November 24th-28th: Thanksgiving Break

Teacher Contact Information

Brytnei Rocha: brocha@nisdtx.org
Stefanie Dailey: sdailey@nisdtx.org
Dan Flank: dflank@nisdtx.org
Alyssa Stas: astas@nistx.org
Amy Harding: aharding@nisdtx.org
Breanne Goeke: bgoeke@nisdtx.org
Kristin Beaty: kbeaty@nisdtx.org

Transportation Changes

To ensure your child's transportation changes are met each day, please contact the front office or email Beckelem@nisdtx.org and CC your child's teacher with the changes. It would be best to notify us as early in the day as possible.

We are the Power of One

Are you following Beck on Twitter? If not, please consider joining and keeping up with the amazing things happening on campus. You can also like us on Facebook! Click the links above to find out more.