The Seahawks Call

Week of May 10, 2021 Volume 32

Message from Principal Taylor..............................

End-of-the-Year Recognitions

With less than six weeks left before the end of the year, I want to inform you that there will not be any end-of-the-year ceremonies or programs. We will still recognize students who make the honor roll for the fourth quarter by mailing certificates.


I'm excited to share that there will be an 8th grade celebration tentatively scheduled for Monday, June 14th from 1-3 pm. More information will be forthcoming.

8th graders Stepping into the Real World............

Congratulations to our 8th graders who were accepted into NPHS. Please view our website to see which students were accepted and the Career and Technology Education Programs (CTE) to which they were accepted.

Lifetouch Picture Orders

If you ordered a picture package from Lifetouch, and have not received your package, please stop by Somers between 8am-12pm during the week in order to pick up your picture package. Packages have been sent home with all Phase 2 and Phase 4 students.


If you have any questions about your pictures, please email Ms. Strobel at mstrobel@ccboe.com.

Library News from Mrs. H-J!

Somers Reads:

Somers students continue to read and record their minutes in Beanstack. In April, students read for 27,692 minutes and enjoyed 72 books. Posted by John Anderson, a book about what happens to students in a school that has banned texting and phones, was a popular title in April, along with Naruto and Harry Potter. 66 students earned National Poetry Month badges. Way to read SeaHawks!


Library Notes:

Students who are in the building may check out books from the library. All books checked out in May will be due May 24. Students may request a book by emailing me or make arrangements with their teachers to come down and visit the library. We are continuing to practice safe lending. Students also have 24/7 access to eBooks and audiobooks through their library Destiny accounts. Stop by and check out some of our new titles, like Embassy of the Dead (funny and creepy), or Bee Fearless (an audiobook by a 15 year old lemonade entrepreneur).

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.