Empire of the Sun

Come visit the home of Machu Picchu, one of the 7 Wonders of the World!

About Peru

Peru is located in South America, the countries that border it are Bolivia, Columbia, Brazil, and Ecuador. The capitol is Lima and the nickname for Peru is Empire of the Sun or Land of the Incas. The weather can range between 57 and 79 degrees. Peru is home to one of the 7 Wonders of the World, Machu Picchu. Since 1897 Peru has had 4 main monetary systems; Libra Peruana de Oro(Peruvian Gold Pound), Sol de Oro (Golden Sun), Inti, and the most recent one Nuevo Sun (New Sun). During New Years everyone eats 12 grapes, 1 for each month of the year, and make a secret wish. There are many historic sites, including Machu Picchu, to visit while in Peru.

Map of Peru

Big image


Historical Sites in Peru

Activities in Peru

There are many activities available while in Peru, such as mountaineering, trekking, riding horses, hang gliding, scuba diving, rafting, sand boarding, surfing, and many more.

Typical Main Courses in Peru

Holidays and Festivals

A few holidays celebrated in Peru are New Years, Carnival, and International Spring Festival.

Four Main Monetary Systems

Libra Peruana de Oro (1st one)

Big image

Sol de Oro (2nd one)

Big image

Into (3rd one)

Big image

Nuevo Sun (current one)

Big image

Extra Facts

  • Land area: 494,208 square miles
  • Total area: 496,223 square miles
  • Population: approx. 30,147,935
  • Growth Rate: 0.99%
  • Birth Rate: 18.57/1000
  • Infant Mortality Rate: 20.21/1000
  • Life Expectancy:73.23
  • Government: democratic republic