First Grade Newsletter

December 8th-12th

Christmas Party

Dear Parents,


Our Christmas party will be held on Friday, December 19th at 11:45 a.m. We are looking forward to celebrating with you and your child and hope that you can be in attendance. All room moms will be sending out more information as to how you can help with food and decorations for the party. If you have any questions please contact your child's teacher.


Sincerely,

The First Grade Team

4th grade Service Learning Project

Dear Parents,


Fourth grade is participating in "The Great Bedtime Story Pajama Drive" and will need your help! They are taking donations for brand new pajamas. If you can, please send in brand new pajamas to the classroom and we will get them sent to 4th grade. This service learning project is a great way for your child to participate and learn about service.

Learning Targets

A Learning Target is the desired goal of each task in which your child will actively be involved. In addition, it engages your child in reflective evaluation of their own performance.

Each week you can ask your child about the learning target to ensure a great conversation of "what did you learn at school today?"


Readers and Writers Workshop:

Students will learn how to form and write an opinion about Pat Mora's text so that; they can express their likes and dislikes and justify their thinking.


Social Studies:

Students will learn their purpose in the community and how they can help those closest to them accomplish goals.


Math Workshop:

Students will learn how to add doubles using a variety of models, pictures, and number sentences in order to add doubles plus 1, 2, and 3. Students will also learn to make groups of 10 unitizing by grouping objects in the classroom.


Science:

Students will learn about our Earth's natural resources so that; they can identify how rock, soil, and water can be used effectively in our everyday lives. They will also learn about the major bodies of water that make up our universe and how they are utilized to help our communities.

Upcoming Events

December 12th: 4th grade service learning pajamas due

December 15th: Field Trip to the Ft. Worth Museum of Science and History

December 19th: Christmas party @ 11:45 a.m.

Teacher Contact Information

Brytnei Rocha: brocha@nisdtx.org
Stefanie Dailey: sdailey@nisdtx.org
Dan Flank: dflank@nisdtx.org
Alyssa Stas: astas@nistx.org
Amy Harding: aharding@nisdtx.org
Breanne Goeke: bgoeke@nisdtx.org
Kristin Beaty: kbeaty@nisdtx.org

Transportation Changes

To ensure your child's transportation changes are met each day, please contact the front office or email Beckelem@nisdtx.org and CC your child's teacher with the changes. It would be best to notify us as early in the day as possible.

We are the Power of One

Are you following Beck on Twitter? If not, please consider joining and keeping up with the amazing things happening on campus. You can also like us on Facebook! Click the links above to find out more.