PCSD Student Support Services

A weekly dose of encouragement for students and families

Week of June 15, 2020

  • Nature as Stress Relief
  • Deep Breathing
  • Wearing a Mask

Nature as Stress Relief

Nature play, or time spent in nature, boasts many benefits. One study of school children in Colorado and Maryland showed that access to natural areas — for elementary and high school students — is associated with reduced stress, increased focus and competence, and the ability to form supportive social groups. Time spent outdoors also:

  • Gets kids moving (exercise is also associated with decreased stress and anxiety),
  • Promotes creativity
  • Increases confidence as kids learn to push their own boundaries and take healthy risks
  • And gives them time to think.

While watching a group of ants might feel exceptionally boring to an adult with a long worry list in mind, time spent observing their natural environments does give kids a much-needed break.


Read more by clicking on the link below.

Big picture

The 4-7-8 Breathing Technique

Benefits of deep breathing include:

  • decreased fatigue
  • reduced anxiety
  • reduced symptoms of asthma in children and adolescents
  • better stress management
  • reduced hypertension
  • reduced aggressive behavior in adolescent males
  • improved migraine symptoms


Read more here: https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/324417

Big picture

Have a Great Summer!

Reach Out Anytime!

PHS:

Alan Feazelle - afeazelle@plattscsd.org

Amy Tisdale - atisdale@plattscsd.org

Rory LaPage - rlapage@plattscsd.org

Sunshine Quinn - squinn@plattscsd.org

James DeBella - jdebella@plattscsd.org


SMS:

Christina Santella - csantella@plattscsd.org

Grace Prue - gprue@plattscsd.org

Janet Hankins - jhankins@plattscsd.org

Kelly Bilow - kbilow@plattscsd.org


Momot:

Kelly Cooper - kcooper@plattscsd.org

Mindy Fay - mfay@plattscsd.org

Savannah Therrien - sdouglas@plattscsd.org

Tracie McCarthy - tmccarthy@plattscsd.org


Oak:

Garret McLean - gmclean@plattscsd.org

Kristy Clark - kclark@plattscsd.org


Bailey:

Tracey Giroux - tgiroux@plattscsd.org

Sheldon Cullen - scullen@plattscsd.org