Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 01.16.22

Building Information

Updated Lighting

This past week, our district electrician has updated the lighting around Port Susan Middle School for the safety of our staff & students. With the dark mornings, it was important to have lighting on the crosswalks for both our entrance as well as the parent drop off area. Please continue to let us know concerns as they come up - we appreciate it!

PSMS Covid Testing

Our nursing staff has done an outstanding job keeping the testing needs of our families as a top priority. As you know, our office area is where our health room is located and the space is limited. We expect quite a few students/families to be tested as we return this week. For Tuesday morning, we are going to set up an outdoor testing location so parents/students can be in their car while the they wait for results. In the morning on Tuesday, you will see a turn in area that will be well marked for this to take place. For future testing, if you do not see a tent and signage, please ring our doorbell at the entrance for assistance.

Big picture

Attendance/End of the Semester

Please continue to reach out to PSMS office to excuse absences throughout the year. In addition, we highly encourage all students to check Google Classroom if they are absent from school. Our teachers are continually posting educational materials for support throughout this time.


We have 2 weeks (both 4 day weeks) to finish off our first semester together. The final day of semester 1 of the 2021-2022 school year will be Thursday, January 27th (no school Friday). Second semester classes will begin on Monday, January 31st. It is important that students are checking their grades through Skyward and reaching out if they have any questions.


Overall, we've had a successful first semester together and are looking forward to finishing the year strong throughout this second semester! Thank you for your support and communication!

PSMS Athletics

Second Season Wrap-Up

The basketball game against Post has been canceled for Tuesday. However, the boys basketball team will have a mixed scrimmage and games at Port Susan Middle School on Tuesday 2:30-4. They will play their final game on Wednesday at Stanwood Middle School.


Girls Volleyball is still scheduled to play at Post on Tuesday and Port Susan on Wednesday. The Schedule is HERE.


If you have any pictures from second season sports that we could use for the yearbook, please send them to Crysty Auckland at cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Third Season Sports

Third season's start date has changed to Monday February 7th. Google Sign-ups are available on Grade-level Google Classrooms. Girls Basketball is for 7th and 8th graders, Wrestling is Girls and Boys grades 6th, 7th, and 8th. In order to register for the season, please use this link: Girls Basketball and Wrestling Registration Form (Third Season)


Our office will need to have a hard copy of your athlete's physical as well as the emergency authorization form. If you have these on file from one of the first sports seasons, we do not need another copy.


As we enter this third sports season, you may be aware that the district continues to struggle with transportation. When we are not able to schedule a bus, we use vans and parents to help transport students to their away contests. If you are able to drive your athlete to away games/matches, please fill out this form: Parent Transportation Waiver for Middle School Sports.


Finally, both basketball and wrestling are considered high-risk sports. There are new Covid screening requirements in place. There will be screening testing of all athletes, coaches, trainers and supporting personnel, regardless of vaccination status 3 times weekly.

  • Among those screening tests, at least one must occur no sooner than the day before the competition; ideally and whenever possible, the day of the event. High-risk sporting activities include basketball, wrestling, water polo, and indoor cheer.

  • Full details for this update (dated December 17, 2021) can be found in the Washington State K-12 Requirements for Schools.

Please provide your consent online by using this google form: Consent Form for Rapid COVID-19 Antigen Test

Big picture

Volleyball Club Opportunity (6th, 7th, & 8th grade)

PSMS will have a Volleyball Club starting January 25th. The first two weeks it will be from 2:30-4 on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Once Girls Basketball begins on February 7th, the Volleyball Club will move to one day a week from 2:30-3:30. Those dates will be published once we get the Girls Basketball game schedule. If students can only make one day a week work those first two weeks, they are still encouraged to join if they'd like to. This is for Boys and Girls, grades 6th-8th. No physical is required since it is a club. Sign-up Information is available on Grade-level Google Classrooms. If you have questions, reach out to Mrs. Titus.
Big picture

Week of January 18th through 22nd

Monday:

**NO School (MLK)**


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Varsity VB @ Post


Wednesday:

Red Schedule

Varsity VB vs SMS

Varsity BB @ SMS


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Future Dates

January 27 - End of Semester (grades K - 12)

January 28 - No School - Grading Day

February 18 - 21 - Mid Winter Break/Presidents Weekend

March 30 - April 1 - Early Release/Spring Conferences

April 4 - 8 - Spring Break

District Information

Big picture

The District is proposing a four-year replacement Capital Projects and Technology Levy on the February 8, 2022 ballot to replace an expiring levy. The proposed local school tax is expected to decrease from current levels. Levies require a simple majority for approval.


The Capital Projects and Technology (Cap/Tech) levy covers two areas:

• Facility improvements and updates that are beyond a general repair or regular maintenance but fall short of bond-level funding needs.
• Instructional technology and related staffing, professional development and technology infrastructure.


Approximately 50 percent of the funds is expected to be used for long-term facility needs, such as:
• New roof at Cedarhome Elementary;
• Replacement fire sprinkler lines at Utsalady and Elger Bay Elementary Schools;
• Portable maintenance at Port Susan, including new roofs, paint and siding repair;
• Upgraded public address systems at Stanwood Middle and Stanwood Elementary Schools;
• Various projects to improve student safety, such as fencing and sidewalks.

Approximately 50 percent of the funds is expected to upgrade technology used for student learning at all schools. Projects include:
• Replacing aging classroom computers, chromebooks and software licenses;
• Maintaining infrastructure that supports technology for student learning, for example, servers, wifi and network;
• Provide for staffing to maintain and operate district technology.

What has SCSD accomplished with local funds?

• Increased the number of computer labs, mobile labs and student-accessible technology at each school;
• Increased the curricular tools and online educational resources;
• Provided professional development and technical support to staff that impacts teaching and learning;
• Replaced fire alarm systems at Cedarhome, Twin City and Stanwood Elementary;
• Playground safety improvements at Cedarhome, Elger Bay and Utsalady Elementary;
• Renovation and roof replacement for the SHS Transition Program facility;
• Seismic upgrades for Stanwood Middle School.


Please remember to vote by February 8

Snohomish and Island Counties conduct all elections through mail-in ballots. The ballots for the February 8, 2022 election must be postmarked (mailing is free) or placed in a ballot drop site by 8 p.m. on Tuesday, February 8, 2022. Ballot drop boxes are located near the Stanwood Library, 9701 271st St. NW and on Camano Island at 121 N. East Camano Drive.

Big picture

Hope you have had a wonderful weekend! See you Tuesday!

Cherae Almanza, Principal


Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal


Our commitment

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.