7 Priniples of the Constitution

By: Joseph Chen

7 Principles of the Constitution

Popular Sovereignty: This principle states that a government gets its authority to govern from the people. It means that people have the right to alter or abolish their government.

Limited Government: This principle means that the government only has the powers that the Constitution can give it.

Separation of Powers: This principle of the Constitution divides the government into 3 branches; legislative, judicial, and executive.

Federalism: This principle of the Constitution means that the federal government and the state governments share power. Powers not given to the federal government belong to the states.

Republicanism: This principle of the Constitution means that citizens elect representatives to carry out their will rather than taking part directly in government.

Checks and Balances: This principle of the Constitution establishes a system where each branch limits (or checks) the power of the other branches. This helps to balance out the power of the branches.

Individual Rights: This principle states that the Constitution will protect certain rights like freedom of religion, speech, and trial by jury.

Individual Rights

Example: Freedom of speech;

Non-Example: Not being able to practice whatever religion you want.

Big image