FALL GUNN COUNSELING NEWSLETTER

10TH GRADE

SOPHOMORE YEAR

Sophomore year is a prime opportunity to build on the content and skills you learned as a freshman. We encourage students to continue developing strong study habits, participate in school activities and events, and explore leadership opportunities.

HOW TO REACH YOUR COUNSELOR

Andrea Bueno 650-354-826, abueno@pausd.org

Jorge Chavez 650-354-822, jchavez@pausd.org

Myesha Dickson 650-354-8207 mdickson@pausd.org

Jonathan Fidani 650-354-8220 jfidani@pausd.org

Derek Johanson 650-849-7935 djohanson@pausd.org

David Leftwich 650-354-8225 dleftwich@pausd.org

Erin Reyes 650-354-8242 ereyes@pausd.org

Cora Ross 650-354-8290 cross@pausd.org

10th GRADE PARENT NIGHT

Wednesday, Sep. 23rd 2020 at 7:30pm

This is an online event.

Join the counseling team to learn about the multiple resources, supports, and opportunities available to our sophomore students and families.


The virtual event can be accessed using the following Zoom link:

https://pausd.zoom.us/s/98919940346


Please use the form below to share any topics of interest or questions you would like discussed at the event.

CONTINUE EXPLORING YOUR INTERESTS!

Continue to find ways to explore what interests you! Although school is virtual at this time, there are many ways to try different activities, explore your passions, and make connections with your peers.


CLUB FAIR

The fall Club Fair will take place on September 23rd during Gunn Together and lunch. Take this opportunity to watch club promo videos, visit with club officer, and to find the right fit for you!


Here is the 2020-2021 Gunn Club List.

SELF AND GUNN TOGETHER VISITS

Counselors will be visiting SELF cohorts throughout the year and presenting important information during Gunn Together time. During this time, we will continue to build connections with students, review transcripts, update 4-year academic plans, and prepare for course selection.

WELLNESS

The transition to any new school year takes time and can be challenging, especially under these circumstances. If the start hasn't quite gone the way you hoped, and if you'd like to talk through your challenges, please consider the following supports:


ACADEMICS

Continue building strong study habits and meet with your teachers during office hours for additional help. If you are struggling, please consider the following steps:


  • Use your academic planner as a tool to stay organized and manage your time.

  • Communicate directly with your teacher for clarification of concerns and questions.

  • Use the Academic Center's peer-to-peer tutoring support.

  • Collaborate with your SELF advisor and counselor for additional supports.

GUNN ATHLETICS

As of September 14th, some outdoor campus athletic facilities have been reopened for off season workouts and practice.



Continue to monitor the Gunn Athletics website for important information and updates as it pertains to upcoming athletic seasons.

PALO ALTO TEEN VOLUNTEER PROGRAM

Have a heart to serve? Help support our city by exploring ways to participate in the Palo Alto Teen Volunteer Program.

EXPERIENCING FINANCIAL HARDSHIP?

Please reach out to your student's counselor to learn about financial assistance opportunities offered in our district as well as in our local community to help your family through this challenging time.