Life in Colonial America

The New England Colonies

The New England colonies consisted of modern-day Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, and Rhode Island. It had self-government and were a religious based government as well. The economy centered on small farming, fishing, and home manufactures, as well as sea trade and shipbuilding.
Big image

The Middle Colonies

The Middle colonies included Pennsylvania, New York, and New Jersey. At first they were governed by a royal governor and a general assembly. The economy was based on grain production, shipping, and fur trading with the local Native Americans. The colonies were later based on religious tolerance.
Big image

The Southern Colonies

The Southern colonies were made up of Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. These colonies were extremely religiously diverse. Immigrants from all around came through there. African slaves were first established there. The economy was based on tobacco, rice, and indigo plantations.
Big image