learn more about auschwitz!

when it was built

The Auschwitz was divided in 3 major camps Auschwitz. 1 main camp or Stammlager Auschwitz 2 or Birkenau, established on October 8th, 1941 as a Vernichtungslager extermination camp Auschwitz III or Monowitz, established on May 31th, 1934 as an "Arbeitslager" or work camp, and also several sub-camps.

how it was used

Auschwitz opened in 1940 and was the largest of the Nazi concentration and death camps. Located in southern Poland, Auschwitz initially served as a detention center for political prisoners. However, it evolved into a network of camps where Jewish people and other perceived enemies of the Nazi state were exterminated, often in gas chambers, or used as slave labor. Some prisoners were also subjected to barbaric medical experiments led by Josef Mengele 1911-1979. During World War II 1939-1945 more than 1 million people by some accounts lost their lives at Auschwitz.

what happened to it

Auchwitz is the collective name given to three large concentration camps. The largest of the 3 camps is Birkenau this is the infamous camp often seen in Holocaust TV documentaries with a rail line running into it. To prevent confusion Birkenau is called by historians Auschwitz 2. The name Birkenau was given because it was built amongst a swampy farm field surrounded by birch trees and bordered by a nearby river and rail line The river Vistula cremation ashes from the victims were thrown into this river.

kaylee wooten

english 8-4


march 20 2015