Bill of Rights Projects

By: DeJardin Moffett 6th 12/18/14

What are the Bill of Rights?

As a new country, leaders from 12 of the 13 states came together to write a constitution, a new set of laws for the country, also known as the Bill of Rights.

Bill 1: Freedom of Speech & Freedom of Press

the right of the peaceably to assemble and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.

Bill 2: Right To Bears Arms

Citizens have the right to keep and bear arms, as well as the right to protect themselves.

Bill 3: Restriction to Home Invasion

Soldiers could not be quartered in any house.

Bill 4 : Unreasonable Search

the right to secure your belongings such as your house and be prone to unreasonable searches.

Bill 5: Double Punishment

the right to not answer for a capitol or and infamous crime unless under indictment for grand jury.

Bill 6: Speedy Trial

the right to a speedy and public trial by an impartial jury of the state.

Bill 7: The Right To A Jury Trial

the right to have a jury settle your civil cases involving a lot of money.

Bill 8: Prevention of Cruel and Usual Punishment

the right that you should not have to pay too much bail or unreasonable fine that do not fit or match the crime you committed or be served the death penalty in certain states.

Bill 9: Rights Returned By People

the government can not take any rights from the people also known as unalienable rights.

Bill 10: Limiting Federal Power

the right that government cannot take away power from the states unless stated in the constitution.