Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 10.23.22

Good morning!

I want to begin with a reflection related to Our Promise and our collected effort to provide support for students to empower their learning towards a future of their choice. As a staff, our commitment to student learning involves the understanding that students will make mistakes and our support for them to overcome and focus on the learning we provide academically toward standard is priority.


After watching the Mariners game last Saturday, I started to reflect on the game and the pressure those athletes must have felt in the moment. I came across the article linked below and Mike Edger states that "The best players in baseball are able to let go of mistakes and learn from them. Use mistakes to help you grow and become better ball players. If you can let go of mistakes quickly and maintain your focus so it does not snowball and affect the next play, you’ll be a better player overall. If you struggle with letting go of mistakes don’t expect your mental game to change overnight. You have to be patient with these changes, and improve over time."


SPORTS PSYCHOLOGY


I want to thank families for your partnership in the support of student learning throughout the school year. We are coming up to the end of our first quarter together and appreciate the communication. Please continue to reach out throughout the year!

Big picture

Conference Days *November 2-4

Teacher conferences are available by request if you would like to sit down with a teacher to discuss your student’s academic progress, performance at school, and goals for improvement. Conferences will take place on Wednesday, November 2nd and Thursday November 3rd. If you would like to set up a conference with an individual teacher, please email or call the office directly to set up an appointment time.


We will be on an early release schedule Wednesday, November 2nd through Friday, November 4th for fall conferences. Student schedules will be early release (7:40 - 10:40 a.m.) for those three days. There will be no late start on Wednesday, November 2nd.


Bell Schedule (November 2nd - November 4th):

Period 1 7:40-8:12

Period 2 8:15-8:42

Period 3 8:45-9:12

Period 4 9:15-9:42

Period 5 9:45-10:12

Period 6 10:15-10:40

Sports & Clubs

I want to thank our coaches and club supervisors for providing a fun/safe experience for our students after school. This week we had a great turnout at both chess club and basketball in addition to all of our other activities. It's appreciated!


Throughout the year, our students have the opportunity to join clubs as they become available. Sign ups and additional information can be found on grade level classrooms or by reaching out to the teacher. If a student joins a club, please arrange transportation home (no transportation provided for after school activities).

Big picture
Big picture

HIB Poster Contest

This past week, we shared the Stanwood-Camano School District information regarding an anti-bullying poster contest to bring awareness to how hurtful bullying is and how important respecting other people and treating them the way you would want to be treated is.


Completed posters can be turned into the office by Friday, October 28th. Thanks for your help and participation!

Big picture

Reminder: PTO Fundraiser

Students brought home our fundraiser information on Friday. This has been organized by our PTO and is the first fundraiser since 2019 when we raised enough to install water filling stations in our building. One project they are currently working towards is a reader board with reminders and information for our students, staff & families. We want to thank our PTO for their support!


In addition to the paperwork provided, the fundraiser link is live....

ripcitypopcorn.com/portsusan

*Reminder: Parent Communication & Skyward

We are at the midpoint of our first quarter together, teachers have been sending home emails to parents regarding support for their student around expectations as needed. The partnership with families is always important and I encourage parents to reach out with questions as they come up as well (teacher emails listed at the bottom of this update).


A reminder that Skyward is a great tool to check grades weekly for students and parents. Not only is this available through the online website, but there is also a Skyward App available for all phones. If you go to your App store and search "Skyward", it can be downloaded onto your phone for quick access. If you need your parent username/password, please reach out to our office at 360.629.1360

Week of 10/24 through 10/28

Spirit Week *Information Below


Monday: *Cozy Day

Regular Schedule

Hearing Screening (7th grade)

Advisory SEL Lesson


Tuesday: *Neon Day

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory


Wednesday: *Pink Out

White Wednesday


Thursday: *Adam Sandler Day

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory


Friday: *Country vs Country Club

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory

Picture Retakes


Future Dates

October 31st: Spirit day/Dance (TBA)

November 2-4: Fall Conferences (No late start/early release)

November 4: Last day of Quarter 1


Student Calendar HERE


Linked below are previous communications. Please continue to reach out with any questions you have. You can email me directly (calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu) or call our office at 360.629.1360

August 21st

August 28th

September 4th

September 11th

September 18th

September 25th

October 2nd

October 9th

October 16th

Big picture

District Information

Community Resource Center

The community resource center (CRC) has partnered with the Center for Justice Social Work (CJSW) and will begin offering a youth MH program at the CRC starting this month. It "aims to provide age appropriate mental health education and facilitate a supportive community for middle and high schoolers." The program will be on Tuesday (Middle Schoolers) and Thursdays (High Schoolers). Transportation to CRC is available from Port Susan Middle School. Please contact Amy Hart (ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu), Student Support Advocate, for more information.
Big picture

Chat with a School Board Member...

The School board wants to hear from you!

The Board of Directors is setting a variety of dates, times and locations to meet with their constituents throughout the school year. Board members look forward to listening and learning about the communities' opinions, suggestions, and concerns. There is no agenda for these events; they are completely informal and anyone can attend.

Listed below are upcoming fall dates - additional dates will be set later in the school year. All events start at 6:00 PM and will be held in the school library:

October 25, Director Natalie Hagglund at Twin City Elementary
October 27, Director Ken Christoferson at Cedarhome Elementary
November 1, Director Charlotte Murry at Elger Bay Elementary
November 3, Director Al Schreiber at Stanwood Elementary
November 8, Director Miranda Evans at Utsalady Elementary

Discussions on School Boundaries

A community group has been formed to help advise the district and school board on how we use, maintain, and develop our facilities. This year, the group (Capital Facilities Advisory Committee/CFAC) will advise on addressing overcrowding at several elementary schools. In partnership with CFAC, we may be adjusting our school boundaries to accommodate for growth at the elementary level. No changes will take place in the current school year. CFAC is in the early stages of making recommendations to address this issue. We need your perspective! If you would like to join CFAC, please email ROvenell@stanwood.wednet.edu or simply complete this form.

Career & Technical Education

The Career & Technical Education (CTE) Program is looking for business and industry leaders to serve as part of the Stanwood-Camano School District Career and Technical Education (CTE) advisory committee(s). These committees advise, assist and provide support and advocacy for quality CTE programs. Advisory committee members are business and industry volunteers representing occupational areas that have feeder programs taught in our public schools. Members have the opportunity to learn more about the CTE program and instructors are able to increase their understanding of the job market, employers' needs, and community opportunities.
CTE advisory committees:

  • Provide information to update, modify, expand, and improve the quality of programs
  • Support and strengthen the partnerships between business, labor, the community, and education
  • Work with students and educators to support real-world experiences and applications
  • Make recommendations that strengthen and expand the CTE curriculum, and provide assistance in implementing these recommendations
  • Identify and validate academic and occupational competencies, determine priorities, and review and evaluate programs
  • Communicate long-term goals and objectives of the CTE programs to students, parents/guardians, employers, and the community

Click Here to learn more.
If you are interested in joining our CTE Advisory Committees, please Click Here to sign up.

Operation School Bell

Dear Families,


Our school district is fortunate to have access to Operation School Bell ®, a program offered by

the Assitance Leagues of Everett ® for students who are in need of new clothes. To qualify for

assistance, a child must be enrolled full time and qualify for the free or reduced lunch program.


The process only takes a few minutes to get started and involves basic information.

In order to participate in this program, it is important that you complete the necessary forms for

EACH child. You can make a copy of the form if you need more, or you can reach out to your

child’s school and request additional copies.

There are options this year for how you would like to receive your clothing. You can choose to

have a volunteer shop for you child and a bag of clothing will be delivered to your child’s school

OR there will be a designated day (undetermined at this time) where your child, with your

permission, will travel with district staff to the facility in Everett to shop for their own clothing

items.


This program is for all SCSD students in preschool through 8 th grade. High school students

participate in a portion of Operation School Bell called “Teen Retail.” Please contact Azra

Grudic, Student Support Advocate, if you have a HS student in need of clothing:

agrudic@stanwood.wednet.edu


Please note that each child can only attend Operation School Bell ® ONCE each school year

(through either the Stanwood-Camano School District or another program such as ECEAP).

To participate in Operation School Bell® your student can pick up a packet from the front office

staff at any time, or you can contact Amy Hart, Student Support Advocate to get the paperwork:

ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu or 360-965-8249.


Thank you,


Amy Hart

Student Support Advocate

Stanwood-Camano School District

Middle School Lunch Menus/Information

Click HERE for Food Service

Thank you!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tamara Pedersen (6-7 Math) tpedersen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Stunz (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) lstunz@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Jeffrey Trammell jtrammell2@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joshua Keaton (7/8 History) jkeaton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6 Social Studies) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History & ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Amy Hart (Student Support Advocate) ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu

Taylor Little (Mental Health Therapist) tlittle@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.