Pathways and Possibilities

Course Guide Supplement

Go from "planning to graduate" to "graduating with a plan"

Select high school classes that prepare you for college and getting a job. Understand how the classes you're taking in high school can lead to a career

Arts & Communications Careers

Do you like to perform in front of an audience? Are you a visual person or like to work with productions and technology?

Arts, audio/video technology, and communications workers use creativity and their talents on the job. You might work for an audience as a performer or artist. This includes painters, dancers, sculptors, actors, and singers. Or, you might work behind the scenes to make a performance successful. This includes set designers, editors, broadcast technicians, and camera operators.

Some audio/video technology and communications workers have high-profile jobs. For example, you might work as a news reporter or fashion designer. Or, you might use your creative talents with technology and work as an animator, graphic designer, or film editor.


Arts & Communications Careers

Arts & Communication Career Plan of Study, Career Plan of Study with required classes

Business


Are you friendly and outgoing? Do you enjoy public speaking? Can you be persuasive?

Marketing, sales, and service workers help businesses sell products. You might advertise and promote products so customers want to buy them. Or, you might sell products and services to customers.

For example, you might develop a marketing plan for a small start-up company; sell furniture; or measure and fit lenses and frames for eyeglass customers.


Business Careers

Business Career Plan of Study, Career Plan of Study with Required Classes

Education, Health, & Human Services

Do you care about people and want to help in some way?

Human services workers help individual and families meet their personal needs. You might work in a government office, hospital, nonprofit agency, nursing home, spa, hotel, or school. Or, you might work in your own home.


Education, Health & Human Services Careers

Education, Health & Human Services Career Plan of Study, Career Plan of Study with required classes

STEM & Environment


Are you detail-oriented? Do you want to know how things work, or enjoy solving problems?

Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics workers do scientific research in laboratories or the field. Others plan or design products and systems. Or, you might support scientists, mathematicians, or engineers as they do their work.

For example, you might oversee the construction of roads, develop systems to prevent diseases, or help engineers do research and read blueprints.


STEM & Environment Careers

STEM & Environment Career Plan of Study, Career Plan of Study with required classes

College Credit Opportunities

We have over 50 Clubs, Activities, and Athletics that you can get involved in!

STAY INFORMED

Questions?

North High School Counselors:

Ms. Amy Cosgrove / A-Go/ 651-748-6035/ acosgrove@isd622.org


Ms. Janice Yamamoto/ Gp-Ma/ 651-748-6037/ jyamamoto@isd622.org


Ms. Andrea Hager/ Mb-S/ 651-748-6033/ ahager@isd622.org


Ms. Molly Bye/ T-Z/ 651-748-6034/ mbye@isd622.org

Career Pathways and Planning Team:

Danielle Funk/ Work Based Learning Coordinator/ dfunk@isd622.org / 651-748-6071


Beth Stanley/ Career Pathways Coordinator/ bstanley@isd622.org/ 651-748-6086