WMS Community Bulletin 10-10-19

EXCELLENCE*EQUITY*COMMUNITY

Watertown Middle School 2019-2020

Hello Watertown Middle School Community,


Happy October! It is definitely starting to feel more "fall-like" outside... stay dry these next few days!


Here are some important upcoming dates:


October 14 - NO SCHOOL


October 16 - Early Release Day - 12:30 pm dismissal


October 16 - Anti-Bias Coalition Meeting 5:00-7:00 pm


October 16 - PTO meeting - WMS Library - 7:00 pm


October 18 - Progress Reports sent home


October 18 - School Dance - 7:00-9:30 pm


October 21-25 - STEM Week


October 21 - School Committee Meeting 7:00 pm


October 29 - Anti-Bias Coalition Dinner and Speaker


October 30 - WMS School Picture Makeup Day


November 3 - Daylight Savings "Fall Back"


November 5 - NO SCHOOL - Voting Day - Professional Development for teachers


November 6 - End of Quarter 1


November 6 - School Site Council meeting 6:30-8:00 pm


November 11 - NO SCHOOL - Veteran's Day


November 13 - PTO meeting 7:00 pm

--------------------------------------------------


Monday, Oct. 7 - A day


Tuesday, Oct. 8 - B day


Wednesday, Oct. 9 - A day


Thursday, Oct. 10 - B day


Friday, Oct. 11 - A day



Monday, Oct. 14 - No School


Tuesday, Oct. 15 - B day


Wednesday, Oct. 16 - A day - Early Release Day - 12:30 pm


Thursday, Oct. 17 - B day


Friday, Oct. 18 - A day



Monday, Oct. 21 - B day


Tuesday, Oct. 22 - A day


Wednesday, Oct. 23 - B day


Thursday, Oct. 24 - A day


Friday, Oct. 25 - B day



Monday, Oct. 28 - A day


Tuesday, Oct. 29 - B day


Wednesday, Oct. 30 - A day


Thursday, Oct. 31 - B day


Friday, Nov. 1 - A day



Monday, Nov. 4 - B day


Tuesday, Nov. 5 - No School - Voting Day


Wednesday, Nov. 6 - A day


Thursday, Nov. 7 - B day


Friday, Nov. 8 - A day

WMS Forges an Exciting Partnership with the Sasaki Foundation and American Student Assistance!

Please see the two attachments below to read about an excellent design mentorship opportunity for 8th graders!


Sasaki Foundation Design Mentorship Program Flyer


Sasaki Foundation Design Mentorship Program Description


Any 8th graders who are interested in interviewing should give their names to Ms. Martin or Mr. Schmidt by Friday, October 11th. Interviews will take place early next week (although the flyer states October 3 or 4).

Watertown Talks Equity: Getting Comfortable with Discomfort

An evening to come together to talk about race, bias, and equity in Watertown

Sponsored by the Watertown Anti-Bias Coalition


*** Dr. Darnisa Amante ***


October 29, 2019


Watertown Middle School Auditorium

5:30 dinner, 6:00 event


5:30-6:00 pm Free family-style dinner


6:00 pm What is the Anti-Bias Coalition all about?


6:15 pm Dr. Darnisa Amante shares her thoughts about how we as a community can dig deeply into the issues of race, bias, and equity


7:00 pm Table talk: What brings you here?


7:30 pm Q & A


Hope to see you there!

Big picture

SPORTS EQUIPMENT DRIVE SEPTEMBER 16 TO OCTOBER 31

Collecting: Hockey equipment, lacrosse equipment, sporting sticks, balls, football equipment, shin guards, cleats, running shoes, golf clubs, tennis racquets.


Drop off locations: Watertown High School Athletic Office or Watertown Middle School Main Lobby.

Big picture

PowerSchool updating

On September 26, all parents/guardians were sent a SnapCode to update your information. Please be sure and complete this process by Monday, October 14th.

STEM Week - October 21-25

STEM Week will be coming to Massachusetts and WMS during the week of October 21st! A website with many great classroom ideas is being created, and voluntary activities are being planned, such as a STEM playground one day in the library and a panel of STEM professionals to speak with the students. More information will be coming soon!

GIRLS WHO CODE

Please find the details for this program at the Boy's and Girl's Club here: Girls Who Code

Reminders

The Watertown Middle School website can be found HERE


The 2019-2020 WMS Student Handbook can be found HERE


The 2019-2020 Student and Parent Rights and Responsibilities Handbook can be found HERE


Classroom Supply Lists for 2019-2020 can be found HERE

HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEK!