European Union Country Project



    Great Britain formally acquired possession of Malta in 1814. The island staunchly supported the UK through both world wars and remained in the Commonwealth when it became independent in 1964; a decade later it declared itself a republic. Since about the mid-1980s, the island has transformed itself into a freight transshipment point, a financial center, and a tourist destination. Malta became an EU member in May 2004 and began using the euro as currency in 2008.


two equal vertical bands of white (hoist side) and red; in the upper hoist-side corner is a representation of the George Cross, edged in red; according to legend, the colors are taken from the red and white checkered banner of Count Roger of Sicily who removed a bi-colored corner and granted it to Malta in 1091; an uncontested explanation is that the colors are those of the Knights of Saint John who ruled Malta from 1530 to 1798; in 1942, King George VI of the United Kingdom awarded the George Cross to the islanders for their exceptional bravery and gallantry in World War II; since independence in 1964, the George Cross bordered in red has appeared directly on the white field

Capital And Major Cities:

The capital of Malta is Valletta . It is a beautiful place that you should go to. The major cities are Mdina , Sliema , Birgu , and St.Julian

Government type :

The government type of Malta is republic.

Physical Features:

Malta has no mountains , no rivers and a series of low hills with terraced fields on on the slopes characterize the island

Currency Type:

Naked currency type is Malta Ira and changed to Wuro in 2008. Malta adopted Euro as its own currency.


Malta is its own country he is not located in to another country. The island of Malta is a small independent nation state in the centre of the Mediterranean, just below Sicily (Italy) in Southern Europe. Malta is an island nation that consists of three main islands: main island Malta, Gozo and Comino. The archipelago lies south of Sicily (Italy) and North of Tunisia, in the centre of the Mediterranean.