The core beliefs of Muslims

Pillar 1: Shahadah

A Muslim must say and believe that there is no God but God and Muhammad is his messenger. The shadahah is important because:

– It is a reminder to us that Allah is one and our day should be spent worshipping Allah

– Muslims do ibadah, worshipping Allah and reminding themselves that none in worthy of worship except Allah

– Allah gave humans a life to obey him, we ensure this by following the guidance of the Quran and following the prophet Muhammed

Pillar 2: Salat

Muslims must face Mecca and pray five times a day.

The importance of the prayers lies in the fact that no matter what actions one performs in his life, the most important aspect is one’s relationship to God, that is, one’s faith (imaan), God-consciousness (taqwa), sincerity (ikhlas) and worship of God (ibaadah). This relationship with God is both demonstrated and put into practice, as well as improved and increased, by the prayer. Therefore, if the prayers are sound and proper, the rest of the deeds will be sound and proper; and if the prayers are not sound and proper, then the rest of the deeds will not be sound and proper, as the Prophet himself stated.

Pillar 3: Zakat

Muslim must make a yearly donation to charity.

Paying zakat has two important goals: it helps the poor, and it purifies a Muslim's ... poor, and can be used in many useful projects for the welfare of the community.

Pillar 4: Sawm

Muslims must not eat from sun-up to sun-down during the month of Ramadan.

During the 29/30 days of Ramadan all adult Muslims must give up the following things like self control

Pillar 5: Haji

Muslims must make a journey to Mecca ar least once in their lives.

Hajj has a significant impact on the Islamic community because this practice strengthens the spirit of unity between each person toward one another and brings equality amongst the pilgrims no matter what race, colour or gender they are because once a pilgrim is on Hajj all that matters is the Tawid (oneness) of Allah.

Big image