The Constitution

Our New Government

What is The Constitution?

The Constitution is the supreme law of the United States. It defines the wholes system behind our government. It establishes the structure of the government such as it being divided into three branches.


The Constitution is made up of different articles all explaining different things.

Preamble- Constitution's Purpose

Article 1- Legislature: House of representatives, Senate

Article 2- Executive: President, Vice President

Article 3- Judiciary: Surpreme Court

Article 4- Duties states have

Article 5- How Constitution can be changed

Article 6- United States is responsible for all debts while under Articles of Confederation

Article 7- Ratifications or approvals needed for Constitution to take effect

Bill of Rights

The Bill of Rights is a name for the first ten amendments or basic rights everyone has which are:

I. Freedom of speech, press, religion, and petition

II. Right to keep and bear arms

III. Citizens do not have to house soldiers.

IV. No unreasonable search or arrest.

V. No double jeopardy or no witness against yourself.

VI. Rights of accused in criminal cases.

VII. Right to a trial by jury

VIII. No excessive bail or cruel punishment.

IX. People get rights not listed in Constitution.

X. Any rights not given to federal government are given to the states and people.

Differences from Articles of Confederation


Articles of Confederation: State could only control

Constitution: Federal government can levy taxes

Amending documents-

Articles of Confederation: Has to be fully unanimous

Constitution: 2/3 in Congress and 3/4 state legislatures


Articles of Confederation: No federal control of trade

Constitution: Controlled by Congress

State Representation-

Articles of Confederation: Every state gets 1 vote

Constitution: Senate gets 2 votes per state, House of Rep is based on population

Raising an Army-

Articles of Confederation: Congress can't draft, completely state dependent

Constitution: Congress can raise an army

Passing Laws-

Articles of Confederation: 9/13 must approve

Constitution: 50% +1 (simple majority) plus President's signature