Brittany Woods Broadcast

December 18, 2020

Message From the Principal

Good Evening BW Families,


As we kick off the start of our Winter Break, I wanted to thank you for an amazing first semester and warm welcome to the community. It’s been a year of ups and downs with multiple shifts throughout. Your unwavering support and grace is greatly appreciated. I hope you are all able to relax, rest and connect with each other over this break. Thank you again for being patient as we move into the last schedule change that will take us to the end of the year.

Be well, be safe and I’ll see you in the new year.


With gratitude,

Grace

Return Dates Reminder

  • Students back to school on Tuesday, January 5th
  • All students will be virtual the week of January 5th-January 8th
  • In person cohort A returns January 11th and in person cohort B returns January 14th

Schedule Changes

Counselors will be working on schedule changes over winter break and will send them out on January 4th. Please click here to see their video regarding schedule changes.

Research Study

1st Quarter Honor Roll

Congratulations to all of our students who qualified for 1st Quarter Honor Roll! Please see the linked Honor Roll list. We will celebrate all Honor Roll students at a later date.

Return to School Handbook

The Return to School Handbook, will be able to share some of the changes to our typical school practices. Please read through with your child in order to prepare for some of the changes they will see at school.

Back to School Videos

If you missed the 6th grade Student Webinar, here are the links for our back to school video and 6th grade webinar with Mr. Flinn.

A Note from the Nurse

If your student will require daily medication or treatments (inhaler, diabetes care, etc) while back at school, please contact me as soon as possible to arrange medication drop-off. Your student's pediatrician office can fax the following important plans to me if applicable: asthma action plan, diabetes action plan, or seizure action plan. Also, please feel free to call me if you have any questions or updates regarding your student's current health.


dbashiti@ucityschools.org

Phone: 314-635-0820

Fax: 314-997-1786


Looking forward to keeping your students healthy and safe!


Dena

COVID Hotline

Big picture
The hotline provides a place to obtain general information about COVID-19, district policies, testing locations and ways to access to primary care physicians. The hotline further provides parents with ways to directly contact a school nurse and general information regarding testing, exposure, quarantine and isolation.

After School Activities

To see information about the activities offered this year, please click here.

Tutoring Help

Big picture

Online Tutoring Available

Free online tutoring is being offered by St. Louis County Library from 10 AM - 10 PM.


Tutor.com connects students in grades K-12 with live tutors in a safe and secure online classroom. Students can access academic tutoring, homework help and test prep assistance. Resources are also available for early college students, adult learners and job seekers. Anyone with a valid St. Louis County Library card can use tutor.com.

Live tutoring is available from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. every day of the week. Students may also upload a document 24/7 to receive tutor feedback.

To get started, visit tutor.com and log in with your last name, library card number, and PIN.

This program is part of the Digital Equity Initiative, announced in July 2020 by St. Louis County Executive Dr. Sam Page.

Big picture

Virtual Curriculum Night

In case you missed it, please click this link to view our Virtual Open House. You will see a map of our building and teacher's names in the areas where their classrooms are located. Enjoy your visit and we hope to see you in person soon.

Contact Information

Grace Lee, principal – glee@ucityschools.org

Pablo Flinn, 6th assistant principal – pflinn@ucityschools.org

Kellie Willis, 6th counselor – kwillis@ucityschools.org

Yvonne Rooks, 7th assistant principal – yrooks@ucityschools.org

Emily Bardot, 7th counselor – ebardot@ucityschools.org

Cate Pautsch, 8th assistant principal – cpautsch@ucityschools.org

Rashaad Davenport, 8th counselor – rdavenport@ucityschools.org

Stephani Hudson, SSD area coordinator – shudson@ucityschools.org

Allegra Grawer, school social worker – agrawer@ucityschools.org

Dena Bashiti, school nurse- dbashiti@ucityschools.org

Tech support- wo@ucityschools.org

Brittany Woods Main Office – 314-290-4280