The Layers of the Sun

There are 6 layers of the sun and they are:

  • Core
  • Radiative Zone
  • Convective Zone
  • Photosphere
  • Chromospere
  • Corona


The sun's energy is produced from the core. This is where the nuclear fusion takes place. at the center of the sun (core) temperatures reach 27,000,000 degrees F.

Radiative Core

Energy from the core travels through the radiative core. it takes this energy about 1,000,000 years to travel all the way through the radiative core.

Convection Zone

The Convection Zone carries energy to just beneath the suns surface.


The Photosphere is the visible outer layer of the sun. The surface can reach 10,00 degrees F. This is the part of the sun which gives of light.


The Chromosphere is a thin layer of gas above the Photosphere. Along with the corona is forms the suns hot atmosphere. Along with the Corona, it is only visible during an eclipse.


The Corona is a thick layer of gas above the chromosphere, it goes on for millions of miles around the sun. The Corona is the outer most layer of the sun.

Sun Spots

Sunspots are certain areas of the Sun which consist of cooler gases. They appear as dark spots in the Sun’s surface. It forms on the photosphere and often forms in pairs.


A prominence is a large and bright extension from the sun. It extends from the sun’s surface, usually in the shape of a loop. It is found that a prominence is usually starting from the sun’s visible layer, the Photosphere and then extends to the Corona.

Solar Flares

A solar flare is a sudden flash of brightness observed near the sun's surface. Solar flares affect all layers of the solar atmosphere, when the plasma medium is heated to tens of millions of Kelvin.


An aurora, sometimes referred to as a polar light, is a natural light display in the sky, predominantly seen in the high latitude regions. Auroras are produced when the magnetosphere is sufficiently disturbed by the solar wind that the trajectories of charged particles in both solar wind and magnetospheric plasma.