Stepping Into 6th Grade

October 14th - October 18th

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

October 22nd and 23rd - Parent Teacher Confrences

October 23rd and 24th - Social Studies Post Test

ELA

W2A: Follow a writing process to produce clear and coherent writing in which the development, organization, style, and voice are appropriate to the task, purpose, and audience; develop writing with narrative, expository, and argumentative techniques.

a. Narrative: Develop narratives including poems about real or imagined experiences with clearly identified characters, well-structured event sequences, narrative techniques, and relevant descriptive details


This means:

1. I can follow the writing process to create a narrative.

2. I can use narrative techniques correctly in my writing. These would include: real or imagined ideas, strong characters, sequence of events, and descriptive details.



Key Terms: narrative, coherent, style, voice, development, relevant




Students will be working hard to finish a short personal narrative due on Wednesday, October 16. They have brainstormed ideas, written a draft, and will continue to work practicing the narrative techniques of effective leads, dialogue, and description next week. They will also put their editing skills to use before they turn in the final copy of the story.



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

Yay! Unit 2!


This week we are very excited to be diving into Unit 2: Introducing Ratios!


We started Unit 2 on Friday by introducing Ratio language like "For every a of these, there are b of those," and "The ratio of these to those is a:b." On Monday, we will start representing ratios with diagrams (or pictures) and continue this skill as we move into equivalent ratios (ratios that are equal) later in the week.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science

Unit:

Celestial bodies


6-8.ESS1.B.1 Analyze and interpret data to determine scale properties of objects in the solar system.


This Week: We will be exploring space! Your student will work to understand characteristics and sizes of terrestrial planets, jovian planets, and various other celestial bodies!


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit Checklist


Learning Targets This Unit:


  • Student can describe how the geography of river valleys led to settlement and the beginning of civilization
  • Student can describe the advancement of civilization and its legacy


Vocabulary: River Valley, Fertile Crescent, Silt, Irrigation, Physical Characteristics, Legacy, Advancement, Polytheism, Law


Monday: Hammurabi's Code Activity

Tuesday: Document Based Questions (DBQ)

Wednesday: DBQ

Thursday: DBQ

Friday: Catch-Up Day


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org