Shares Contest Finalists

Judges Select Top 5 Finalists in 6th Annual Writing Contest

K-4 Students Write About Time Travel for Contest Theme

5 schools hailing from Iowa, North Carolina, Virginia, and Wisconsin will be competing to win the grand prize in the 6th annual K-4 Mrs. P Be-a-Famous Writer contest. The finalists were selected by a panel of celebrity judges that included poet Robert L. Forbes, actress Marion Ross, & 5th grade teacher from N. Y. Jamie Palmer, and Mrs. P.
Big image

Two Classrooms at the Same School Compete for Top Honor

This year K-4 classrooms were invited to write about the theme of Time Travel. “It was a very exciting year to read the contest entries and be taken back in time by these amazing young authors,” said Mrs. P (played by T.V. actress Kathy Kinney). “Two of the entries are even from the same school this year but different classrooms, talk about nail-biting”, added Kinney.

This year’s five finalists are:
  • Big Hair Bonanza - Michelle Midthus 3rd grade from Crestwood Elementary in Iowa, submitted a story drafted by a student that the class voted on and then their classroom edited and revised it as a class project.
  • Steve the Human and Bob the Robot - Mrs. Heather Garnett's 4th Grade Classroom at The Collegiate School in Richmond, Virginia submitted an individual's story voted as the best entry by our class.
  • The Day the Class Went Back in Time - Gail Mercurio’s 1st grade at Albemarle Road Elementary School in Charlotte, North Carolina submitted their story as is a collaborative class project.
  • The Magic Baseball Poster from Karen Close’s 4th grade at Elm Lawn Elementary school in Middleton Wisconsin selected one story voted on by the class to represent this 4th grade.
  • The Time Travel Adventure from Mrs. Kerian's 3rd Grade from Crestwood Elementary in Iowa, selected a story drafted by a student that the class voted on and then their classroom edited and revised it as a class project.

Sponsors to Fill Schools with Books

The grand prize winning classroom will be filled with actual books, audio book and digital books thanks to the sponsors of the contest. Actual books are provided by Buy Preferred , audio books are provided by Tales2Go and digital books are provided by myOn Reader, Plus Polka Dots Publishing will be making possible 2 copies of the winning story made into an actual book with color illustrations created by illustrator Robin Robinson for their classroom & school library. The four runners up will also all receive gift cards for books from Powell’s Books and a choice of one of author Melissa Northway’s books for their classroom.

The grand prize winner of the contest will be announced on January 15, 2015.
Watch the website

About the Be-a-Famous Writer Contest

Now in it's sixth year, the annual Be-a-Famous Writer is an opportunity for K-4 classrooms to spark their imaginations. The contest is for classrooms only and is FREE to enter. One story per classroom is permitted and it can be a collaborative story, or teachers can have the class vote on which child's story to enter, but either way it's the whole classroom that wins. Every year a new theme is selected and entries are received between September 15 and November 15. A team of celebrity judges selects the winning entries.