LISD Visual Art

Winter, 2014 Issue 3: Information and Upcoming Events

Art Teacher Directory

Please complete your slide by Dec 19. This is an important document that will help us recognize and get to know each other!

Please include a professional picture of yourself (we need faces!) as well as any customization. Illustrations/avatars (of yourself) are fine as long as we can tell it’s you.

Here's the link:

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1L8ogMfwM4b5H6pfxrVPd_li6E_ARV_JZtdqhUjCZLfs/edit?usp=sharing


For the time being, this list will remain alphabetical, and we will modify in the future.

Proclomation 2015

It is very confusing. It is very frustrating.

The Advocacy Committee is working with Missey and discussing all possible solutions. Please make sure your voice is heard, as soon as possible.

Faculty Art Show, February 2015

Get motivated!


We want your artwork. YES, YOU.


We are looking forward to a big turnout, as we need about 40 pieces!

Please keep in mind that these works will be viewed by all ages and need to be school appropriate.


We can accommodate 3D art as well.


Please have your work ready by to be displayed by Jan. 30, 2015.

Introducing: LISD Community Arts Festival, late spring, 2016

Does this sound like something you would like to pioneer? Be a trailblazer for a district-wide arts festival! Be the start of something HUGE!


If your curiosity is piqued, contact Marty Kruk at mailto:krukm@lisd.net

LISD Visual Art website

Please continue to update your page. Keep it fresh. Think about all the people checking us out. They are.

If you need any help, there is a tutorial tab at the top. Or, contact Elizabeth Stroud at mailto:stroude@lisd.net. She will be more than happy to help you!

Happy Holidays!

Enjoy your break---rest, relax, eat well, do what you want. Create a work of art for the Faculty Art Show. Let's all come back refreshed and energized!

See you in 2015!

Who's Who? Your Committee:

Elementary

Lynn Luck, luckm@lisd.net

Leslie McReynolds, Communications Chair, mcreynoldsl@lisd.net

Pam Sewell, sewellp@lisd.net

Elizabeth Stroud, stroude@lisd.net


Middle School

Nancy Lawrence, lawrencen@lisd.net

Alesia Shaw, shawat@lisd.net

...


High School

Janet Cranston, cranstonj@lisd.net

Josh Fletcher, Secretary, FletcherJ@lisd.net

Ross Hines, hinesr@lisd.net

Angel Holmes, holmesa@lisd.net

Marty Kruk, Chairperson, krukm@lisd.net

Kathy Toews, Superintendent’s Office Art Coordinator, toewsk@lisd.net


Administrators

Missey Head, Coordinator of Fine Arts, headj@lisd.net

Bill Watson, Director of Fine Arts, watsonb@lisd.net


...Yes. Yes, I did add a stock photo of business strangers. Just checking to see if you were paying attention...

Superintendent's Office Art Show Guidelines

Superintendent’s Office

Artwork Selection

Rules and Regulations

Drafted: Fall 2014


Artwork/Submitting Artwork:

  • Teachers can submit as many works as they see fit.

  • Number of works selected:

    • 3 - Elementary School

    • 3 - Middle School

    • 3 - High School

  • All work will be submitted electronically to the Superintendent’s Art Show Coordinator (SAS Coordinator).

  • Each image must have:

    • media

    • dimensions/size

    • artist name

    • teacher name

  • The SAS Coordinator will mat, frame, and install all work selected, as well as maintain the show.

    • Framed work or work on canvas will not be framed/reframed, but will hang in existing state.

  • Artwork must be submitted to the SAS Coordinator prior to the following Arts Advocacy meeting dates: May, October, December, March.

The Show

  • Work will be displayed for 9 weeks. New works will be selected and placed in these months: September, November, January and April.

    • Participating Teachers and Students PLEASE NOTE: You will not be able to collect before the end of the 9 week time frame. All work selected will be hung for the full 9 weeks; therefore, work in the Superintendents Show is not available for other shows (for example: VASE, LISD District Shows).

  • The show can house up to, but no more than, three 3-D works.

    • The 3-D works must be ready for installation upon delivery to the SAS Coordinator.

Selection of Work

  • The selection committee is made up of 3 or more members of the Arts Advocacy Committee.

  • The process for selecting works will be the “sticky note method”. Each member of the committee will be given a proportional amount of sticky notes and then proceed to vote for their selection in each category (High, Middle, Elementary school).

  • The 3 works in each category that gather the most votes will be the works selected for the show.