Lynx MS News

AIS West - May 2021

Hello AIS West Middle School Community,


We hope this email finds you well in the final weeks of the holy month of Ramadan. We would also like to wish a Happy Coptic Easter to everyone who celebrates.


We appreciate your patience and flexibility as we have been instructed to move students back online for the remainder of Ramadan due to increasing COVID19 cases in the community. Students will attend classes these next two weeks over Zoom (see schedule below).


As of today, we plan on returning to the hybrid schedule follow Eid. Please continue to check your email as changes will be determined based on COVID19 numbers and directives from the Ministry of Education.


Do not hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns at any time. We are here for each other during this difficult time. Please take a moment to read the May teaching and learning summaries below. It is quite remarkable what our teachers and students are accomplishing despite the challenges we have been presented with this year.


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Assistant Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Ramadan Schedule

Big picture

Important Dates

May 3 - Sham El Nessim - No School (subject to change)

May 4 - Independent Work Day


May 5 - May 6 - All Students Attend Classes Online


May 9 - 10 - All Students Attend Classes Online


May 11 - Independent Work Day

May 12 - 13 Eid El Fitr - No School


May 16 - 20 - Cohort A On Campus (Tentative)

Cohort B At Home Learning


May 23 - 27 - Cohort B On Campus (Tentative)

Cohort A At Home Learning


May 30 - June 3 - Cohort A On Campus (Tentative)

Cohort B At Home Learning


June 3 - Cohort A Grade 8 Promotion Ceremony (subject to change)


June 6 - June 10 Cohort B On Campus (Tentative)

Cohort A At Home Learning


June 10 - Cohort B Grade 8 Promotion Ceremony (subject to change)

*Student and Teacher of the Month* Thinker

Big picture

Student of the Month - Rokaya Noaman

Rokaya exercises critical and creative thinking skills to recognize and deal with complex problems and make rational and ethical decisions. Rokaya is wise beyond her years and a pleasure to have in class.

Teacher of the Month --- Gail Heard

Ms. Gail constantly thinks about ways to help students connect to their learning. As she begins to plan for the next school year, she is reading and considering each possible choice of novel for her students to read in the context of how they will be able to connect to the book, its characters, and themes relevant to their own lives.

Counselor's Corner

We are in the final stretch of the year now with just a few months to go. This month we will be offering workshops to support students with academic struggles and grade 8 transition activities!
Big picture

Secondary School Library News!

Come see in the dome our continued Ramadan, Eid and Islamic themed book display from last month. There is also a Poetry Corner continued from last month as well. A friendly reminder that the end of the school year is fast approaching. Last day for checking out books from the Secondary School Library is Sunday, 16th May. Last day to return Books is Thursday, 3rd June. Please, start looking and bringing library books back to school as all materials must be returned in order to avoid fines from the library. We are happy you came and visited the library, read books, did school work and used the space appropriately.

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We have just completed the novel Zahrah the Windseeker and are preparing for an assessment and a project on character analysis.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Students explored Asia during the month of April. After stopping in India to learn how people adapt to monsoon rainfall we will explore the challenges of large populations in China.

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We will finish solving one-variable equations by solving equations with parenthesis and variables on both sides.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

Students will continue learning about the plant & animal kingdoms. We will continue exploring parts of a cell, with a summative project to construct an edible model of either a plant or animal cell! Students have two weeks to plan the ingredients for their creation, and make a video to present their model.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

الجغرافيا: الأنشطة الاقتصادية بالبيئة الصحراوية ـ تنمية البيئة الصحراوية أما التاريخ : ثورة ١٩١٩ ـ ثورة ٢٣ يوليو ١٩٥٢. / اللغة العربية :القراءة (الصديقان وكعكة السكر) - النصوص (أيام الطفولة) - النحو (النعت - الحال)

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

الفراءة ( في منتصف الطريق )النحو ( ضمائر الغائب ) تحدث واستماع. ( قصة النملة ) املاء ( مراجعة علي ما سبق دراسته )

Arabic SS 6 - Asmaa Mahmoud- amahmoud@aiswest.com

الفراءة ( في منتصف الطريق )النحو ( ضمائر الغائب ) تحدث واستماع. ( قصة النملة ) املاء ( مراجعة علي ما سبق دراسته )

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students are starting to build their All About Me project using the expressions that they have learned so far. Next, we will learn how to communicate about family and pets in French.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn and practice phrases commonly used in class and will have a last cultural project Inty Raymi, a Peruvian celebration.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students finish their beautiful set designs "The Islands of Feelings", reflect on them via presentation (Introduction / overview), sign posts (three main points) and closing remarks (signal, summary, conclusion and "bang"). Students learn how to lay a solid foundation and how to connect with the audience through a variety of public speaking techniques.

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students have learned how to use the touch and ultrasonic sensors to make their robots more autonomous. During this last period they will integrate those into their sumobots and have internal competitions with their peers.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

Students are participating in low impact target games while in school. Students are also exploring what factors can help to increase motivation to be physically active outside of school. Finally, students are comparing their beginning of the year fitness testing scores with their mid-year fitness testing scores to check their progress toward their fitness goals.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning about a new Artist who creates Pop Art. We will research his work and create our own Artwork that will show understanding of the techniques and processes he uses.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

We are working on finalizing all the music for upcoming concert in May. All students are reminded that they need to attend all classes, online and at school.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

Students will continue to work on their grammar and writing skills. They will finish reading The Giver, and work on developing and writing an analytical essay.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

Students prior knowledge of the area of a rectangle will be applied to learn to multiply polynomial algebraic expressions.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

Students will be exploring space and the objects in our solar system, we will complete the unit with designing our very own rovers to explore other planets!

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

Students will learn about the rise and fall of the Roman Empire, as well as the daily life and legacy of Rome.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud - smahmoud@aiswest.com

مهارة القراءة والتذوق اللغوي :مشروع نص "التعاون"،- نحو: "الأفعال التي تنصب مفعولين "، - مهارة الكتابة والإملاء: قاعدة الهمزة المتوسطة على نبرة – أوراق عمل مراجعة التربية الدينية

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will finish their research on theatre jobs, structure their thoughts and present. Students learn how to lay a solid foundation and how to connect with the audience through a variety of public speaking techniques.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

Students are working on their Voici Ma Famille presentation by completing their slides with the correct use of adjectives and nouns. In géoculture, students are working on their individual project on the francophone countries.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are practicing how to talk about school activities, schedules and things they need to do in school. Students will have a cultural project.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة ( قصة ابو قير وابو صير الجزء الثاني ) النحو ( اسلوب النداء) تحدث واستماع ( قصة المعلمة ) املاء ( مراجعة علي ما سبق دراسته )

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will finish their cardboard mazes as an opportunity to materialize their learnings on level design. In the last portion of the month they will start working on their final video game projects.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are planning and creating artwork that uses expressive and painterly brush techniques, color schemes and compositions.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

We are working on finalizing all the music for upcoming concert in May. All students are reminded that they need to attend all classes, online and at school.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are researching about Art & Dance history in Egypt and learning about Egyptian Folklore.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

الجغرافيا : الأقاليم المناخية والنباتية في العالم ـ التاريخ : الإسكندر في مصر ـ دولة البطالمة في مصر ـ مصر ولاية رومانية

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

Students are participating in low impact target games while in school. Students are also exploring what factors can help to increase motivation to be physically active outside of school. Finally, students are comparing their beginning of the year fitness testing scores with their mid-year fitness testing scores to check their progress toward their fitness goals.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

Students will continue reading Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing, while analyzing the characters, plot and theme of the play.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

We will start a Geometry unit in May. A brief review will be given on lines, angles and shapes, followed by exploration of the Geometry of Polygons.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

8th grade history students are learning about the start and rise of the Byzantine Empire. Additionally, they are learning about the religious differences between the Western and Eastern halves of the Roman empire and the eventual decision to split into two churches in 1054 - Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox.

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

Students will be learning about motion. This is our last unit for the academic year. They will learn how to describe speed, velocity, and acceleration by mathematical expressions and graphs.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will practice how to talk about activities they do in downtown, such as movies, theater, restaurants. There will be a cultural project about paintings in Spain and Chile.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will learn a new topic about shopping (faire les magasins). In grammar, the focus will be on conjugation of verbs in the present tense. In géoculture, students will explore L'Ouest de la France.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students have learned how to use considitionals and loops to make interactive programs. During this month they will develop a simple trivia game and start working on their personal final projects.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة ( الكنز قبل ان يضيع الجزء الثاني ). النحو ( الآسماء الموصولة ) التحدث والاستماع ( قصة الام ) الاملاء ( مراجعة علي ما سبق دراسته ) .

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

النحو: الميزان الصرفي ، الكشف في المعجم - النربية الإسلامية : الإنسان والحيوان - غزوة مؤتة - قادة غزوة مؤتة

Arabic Social Studies 8 - Mahmoud Sharkawy- msharkawy@aiswest.com

الجغرافيا : الصناعة والتجارة - السياحة في وطننا العربي / التاريخ : روائع الحضارة الاسلامية في الحكم والاداره - روائع الحضارة الاسلامية في العلوم والاداب

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are planning and creating an artwork that uses expressive and painterly brush techniques, color schemes and compositions.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning about tribal Dances & traditions from Africa.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will finish their research on theatre jobs, reflect on thoughts and structure them and finally present. Students learn how to lay a solid foundation and how to connect with the audience through a variety of public speaking techniques. Let me know if there is anything else I can/should do.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

Students are participating in low impact target games while in school. Students are also exploring what factors can help to increase motivation to be physically active outside of school. Finally, students are comparing their beginning of the year fitness testing scores with their mid-year fitness testing scores to check their progress toward their fitness goals.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

We are working on finalizing all the music for upcoming concert in May. All students are reminded that they need to attend all classes, online and at school.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool