The Seahawks Call

December 21 - January 1, 2021 Volume 14

Big picture

A message from Principal Taylor..........................

Superintendent Hill decided to close the school system for the entire winter break. Therefore, all schools, offices and meal sites will be closed from December 23rd through January 1, 2021. Schools will reopen as well as classes will resume on Monday, January 4, 2021.


On behalf of my entire staff, we wish all of our Seahawk families a happy and safe holiday!

One hour and Two hour Delayed Schedules

SUBMISSION OF PHOTOS FOR THE SCHOOL YEARBOOK!

This year, we are all photographers for the school yearbook! Each week, the yearbook staff will be asking for photos to help us capture the moments going on in the lives of our students and staff during the 20-21 school year.

Parents and/or students can submit photos. There are two ways to submit photos:

  1. Through the website: http://www.hjEshare.com .
  2. By downloading the app HJeShare


The code to submit photos is Somers. Unless specified, please submit all photos to the General Photos section. Submitting a photo does not guarantee that your photo will be included in the yearbook.

This week, the yearbook staff would like photos of what you have been doing while at home the past few months. Did you pick up a new hobby? Did you learn how to cook? Have you read through all the books in your house? Are you caught up on your Netflix shows? Take a photo that shows us what you’ve been doing or what you are proud of. We can’t wait to see what our Seahawks have been up to!

From the Desk of.........................Ms. H-J, Media Specialist

CURBSIDE PICKUP!!!

Our first curbside library pickup is scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 22nd. Students will be able to stop by to pick up books between 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm in front of the school. If you need to make arrangements for another time that day, please contact me at hhartman-jansen@ccboe.com. Students may access a link to a "How To" video for curbside pickup on our school library site.


WINTER READING CHALLENGE IS COMING!!!!

From January 1st to January 31st, Somers Seahawks will participate in Beanstack’s Fourth Annual Winter Reading Challenge, “Books Like Us,” sponsored by Simon and Schuster (S&S). We challenge our Seahawks to read at least 40,000 minutes during the month and keep track of their reading on our Somers Beanstack site. Thousands of libraries and schools across the nation will encourage their communities to read a target number of minutes and books.

Prizes will include book collections and virtual author visits. Ten (10) winning schools or libraries will each get a collection of fifty (50) books from the “Books Like Us” collection.


Happy reading, Somers!

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.