Three Branches Of Government

Big image

What Does Each Branch Do?

The President of the United States controls the Executive Branch of our government. He enforces the laws that the Legislative Branch (Congress) makes.

The Legislative part of our government is Congress. Congress makes the laws. Congress is made up of 2 parts. One part is called the Senate. There are Senators from each of our states. Another part is called the House of Representatives. Representatives meet together to decide if bills should become laws.

The Judicial part of our federal government has the Supreme Court and 9 Justices. They only hear cases that contain issues related to the Constitution. They are the highest court in our country.

Why We Have Three Branches Of Government

The Founding Fathers wanted to form a government that did not let anyone to have too much control. Then they wrote the Constitution for a separation of power, or three separate branches of government. Each has its own responsibilities and they need to work together to make the country run smoothly.
Big image